June Sparrow and the Million-Dollar Penny

by Rebecca Chace, Kacey Schwartz

On Sale: 05/30/2017

June Sparrow and the Million-Dollar Penny

by Rebecca Chace

illustrated by Kacey Schwartz

On Sale: 05/30/2017

Format:

About the Book

A charming, classic middle grade debut perfect for fans of Three Times Lucky and Because of Winn-Dixie with the most lovable pig since Wilbur in Charlotte’s Web.

June Sparrow and her best friend—a miniature pig named Indigo Bunting—have always been just fine on their own. June is a wealthy orphan who’s lived in New York City her whole life. But on June’s twelfth birthday, she suddenly loses her fortune and is forced to move in with an aunt she’s never even met, in the tiny town of Red Bank, South Dakota, a place so small that it doesn’t even have a traffic light.

Now June has to live on a farm with grouchy Aunt Bridget, who sees her best friend as potential bacon! Then one day, June finds a mysterious Penny Book that her mother used to keep. She is instantly intrigued by what her mother called the Big One, the rarest and most valuable of all pennies. Finding it could be June’s ticket back to New York and her old life. But the only guide June and Indigo have is a cryptic list her mom left behind.

To decode the list and find the Big One, June and Indigo enlist the help of some new friends in Red Bank and turn the town upside down in their search. But the most surprising mystery of all may be what brought June to Red Bank in the first place—and what is most valuable to her in the end.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny is an accessible, classic tale that has plenty to say about how we find family, and how we find home. Readers of all ages will love this book.” - Two-time National Book Award finalist Eliot Schrefer

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062464989
  • ISBN 10: 0062464981
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 05/30/2017
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Humorous Stories
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Orphans & Foster Homes

June Sparrow and the Million-Dollar Penny by Rebecca Chace

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.