Roll

by Darcy Miller

On Sale: 05/23/2017

Roll

by Darcy Miller

On Sale: 05/23/2017

Format:

About the Book

Winner of the 2018 Burr/Worzalla Award * A CCBC (Cooperative Children’s Book Center) Choices 2018 Pick * A Bank Street Best Children's Book of 2017

A hilariously funny and poignant debut novel, perfect for fans of Jerry Spinelli, Kat Yeh, Gary D. Schmidt, and Rebecca Stead.

When Lauren (but call him “Ren,” pretty please) Hall sees birds falling from the sky, he knows something is wrong. But just as he’s starting to worry, he realizes that the birds are plummeting toward the ground on purpose.

Turns out they’re Birmingham Roller Pigeons, and his new neighbor Sutton is training them for a competition.

Sure, it’s strange, but Ren’s best and only friend Aiden has picked this summer to start hanging with the popular kids. So Ren starts training pigeons with Sutton—what’s the worst that could happen? A bird falls on his head?

You’ll have to read Roll to find out.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Miller’s debut soars and dives among the complex emotions that accompany growing up and genuine friendship.” - Booklist

“It’s a refreshing change to see middle-school angst about friendship changes from a boy...[an] understanding story about growing pains and owning your own identity.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“It’s refreshing...A fresh take on a familiar challenge.” - Kirkus Reviews

“A distinctive and memorable narrative. Readers will cheer on awkward, quirky Ren as he, like the pigeons, learns to roll with it.” - Publishers Weekly

Roll is a great summer book for pigeon fanciers—or any young reader who fancies a good story.” - BookPage.com

“Readers will delight in Sutton’s fierce honesty and Ren’s geeky selfdiscoveries [and will] have very little trouble rolling with the human characters—and the pigeons. Plus, we learn about Birmingham Roller pigeons. How cool is that?” - Horn Book Magazine

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062461223
  • ISBN 10: 0062461222
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 05/23/2017
  • Pages: 224
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Birds

Roll by Darcy Miller

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.