Lift, Mix, Fling!

Machines Can Do Anything

by Lola M. Schaefer

On Sale: 03/08/2022

Lift, Mix, Fling!

Machines Can Do Anything

by Lola M. Schaefer

illustrated by James Yang

On Sale: 03/08/2022

Format:

About the Book

How do you make work easier? With machines, of course! Acclaimed author Lola M. Schaefer and award-winning illustrator James Yang explore various types of machines and their numerous, complex functions. A fun and interactive STEM-themed picture book for fans of David Macaulay and Byron Barton, and anyone curious about how things work and what makes things go.

Machines are everywhere. They are the spoons that scoop and the trucks that dump. They are pulleys and ramps and even a giant rocket ship flying through outer space. How many simple and compound machines can you find?

Lift, Mix, Fling! introduces readers to the six different simple machines: the screw, the lever, the wedge, the pulley, the inclined plane, and the wheel and axle. Lola M. Schaefer’s lively, rhyming text and James Yang’s bold and inventive illustrations make this STEM topic easy to understand and fun to explore. Lift, Mix, Fling! illustrates how machines function and why they are important—a necessary building block in science. A fun and educational choice for curious children, for classrooms, and for family story times.

Includes backmatter about simple and compound machines. 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062457103
  • ISBN 10: 0062457101
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 03/08/2022
  • Pages: 40
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Science & Nature / Physics
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Technology / General
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Transportation / General

Lift, Mix, Fling! by Lola M. Schaefer

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.