The Problim Children: Carnival Catastrophe

by Natalie Lloyd

On Sale: 06/25/2019

The Problim Children: Carnival Catastrophe

Enlarge Book Cover

The Problim Children: Carnival Catastrophe

by Natalie Lloyd

On Sale: 06/25/2019

Format:

About the Book

The Problims try to win the Corn Dog Carnival and rescue their missing mama in the second book in New York Times bestselling author Natalie Lloyd’s hilarious and clever series that’s perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Holm and Sharon Creech!

“An affectionate ode to the wonders of being a weird kid in a weird family.” —Anne Ursu, author of The Real Boy and Breadcrumbs

All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together. But trusting each other isn’t easy for the Problim siblings when neighbors like Desdemona and Carly-Rue O’Pinion are working double-time to turn the town against them.

From catapulting cattle to runaway corndogs to spiders on the pageant stage, the Problim brothers and sisters are blamed for every catastrophe at this year’s carnival. And to top it all off, Mama Problim is missing!

Can the seven siblings come together in time to save the carnival and rescue their mom from a villain even more dastardly than Desdemona? Or will they discover too late what it truly means to be a Problim?

Critical Praise

★ “Lloyd hits her stride as she weaves—as intricately as Mona’s beloved circus spiders—plot twists, humor, suspense, rivalry, hints of romance for the older Problims, and realistic development of Mona’s character.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Lloyd’s quirky gang of seven siblings returns in a new mystery soaked in doughnut frosting....[She] revels in the story’s zaniness, bolstering it with heart and enough complexity to ensure readers are invested.” — ALA Booklist

“Mona shines as she figures out (not always gracefully) that everyone has unique value—even her worst enemies. A charming sequel.” — School Library Journal

Praise for THE PROBLIM CHILDREN: ★ “Another heart-warming yarn centered on friendship and family.” — Booklist (starred review)

 “Both text and illustrations offer a nod to Roald Dahl’s quirky, juvenile heroes and equally quirky, nasty villains. The distinctive flavor comes both from Lloyd’s witty but succinct word mastery and from her unflagging imagination.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Irreverent and delightful.” — Publishers Weekly

“Lloyd’s warm and playful writing shines.” — School Library Journal

“Much quirky fun to be had.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“An affectionate ode to the wonders of being a weird kid in a weird family.” — Anne Ursu, author of The Real Boy and Breadcrumbs

“A sheer, riotous delight.” — Claire Legrand, author of Some Kind of Happiness

“Filled with adventure, mystery, humor, and heart.” — Heidi Schulz, New York Times bestselling author of Hook’s Revenge

“An absolute gem, delightfully original but with the timeless charm of a favorite classic. I sincerely, truly loved loved loved loved loved it.” — DAN GEMEINHART, Author of The Honest Truth and Some Kind of Courage

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062428240
  • ISBN 10: 0062428241
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 06/25/2019
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Siblings
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Humorous Stories

The Problim Children: Carnival Catastrophe by Natalie Lloyd

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.