One Half from the East

by Nadia Hashimi

On Sale: 09/06/2016

One Half from the East

by Nadia Hashimi

On Sale: 09/06/2016

Format:

About the Book

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy.

Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck—dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh.

Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though—unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure.

Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Like its young protagonist, One Half from the East dances between hope and hard realities. Obayda’s struggle to define herself in a world that is all too eager to do the job for her is captivating.” - Cassie Beasley, author of Circus Mirandus

“Told in clear, vivid prose that combines detailed descriptions of daily life with a good dose of adventure, this story... This is an excellent title that will offer students a window into life in Afghanistan and open interesting, age-appropriate conversations about gender expectations and roles in different countries.” - School Library Journal (starred review)

“By focusing on gender inequality as seen through the lens of a traditional society, Hashimi lets readers see themselves in Obayda’s emotions, even as the outcomes remain true to the Afghan culture Hashimi portrays so fluently.” - The Horn Book

“The first-person point of view in this novel will be impactful and meaningful to readers. Hashimi’s Obayda will provide readers with insightful information about Islamic culture, and particularly the Afghani culture, as it relates to girls.” - Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“With beautiful language, rich characters, and a perspective not often seen in children’s literature, this heartbreaking story will leave a lasting mark.” - Booklist

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062421906
  • ISBN 10: 0062421905
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 09/06/2016
  • Pages: 272
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / Middle East
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

One Half from the East by Nadia Hashimi

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.