What Goes Up

by Christine Heppermann

On Sale: 08/18/2020

What Goes Up

Enlarge Book Cover

What Goes Up

by Christine Heppermann

On Sale: 08/18/2020

Format:

About the Book

How do you forgive yourself—and the people you love—when a shocking discovery leads to a huge mistake? Acclaimed author Christine Heppermann’s novel-in-verse tackles betrayals and redemption among family and friends with her signature unflinching—but always sharply witty—style. For fans of Elana K. Arnold, Laura Ruby, and A. S. King.

When Jorie wakes up in the loft bed of a college boy she doesn’t recognize, she’s instantly filled with regret. What happened the night before? What led her to this place? Was it her father’s infidelity? Her mother’s seemingly weak acceptance? Her recent breakup with Ian, the boy who loved her art and supported her through the hardest time of her life?

As Jorie tries to reconstruct the events that led her to this point, free verse poems lead the reader through the current morning, as well as flashbacks to her relationships with her parents, her friends, her boyfriend, and the previous night.

With Poisoned Apples: Poems for You, My Pretty and Ask Me How I Got Here, Christine Heppermann established herself as a vital voice in thought-provoking and powerful feminist writing for teens. Her poetry is surprising, wry, emotional, and searing. What Goes Up is by turns a scorchingly funny and a deeply emotional story that asks whether it’s possible to support and love someone despite the risk of being hurt. Readers of Laura Ruby, E. K. Johnston, Elana K. Arnold, and Laurie Halse Anderson will find a complicated heroine they won’t soon forget.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Like the mycelial networks growing for miles underground, this sharply observed, often slyly funny free-verse novel runs deep, tackling the secrets that break through the surface of our lives, threatening to poison everything.” - Laura Ruby, two-time National Book Award finalist and author of Bone Gap

“Intricately wrought yet deceptively simple, Christine Heppermann’s What Goes Up is a tender, heartbreaking investigation of the long-reaching effects of betrayal.” - Elana K. Arnold, author of the Printz Honor book Damsel

“Visceral and poignant, What Goes Up examines the fallout of bad decisions, while avoiding judgement.” - Mindy McGinnis, acclaimed author of Heroine

"Heppermann uses verse to deconstruct and build up plot points in a skilled manner and keeps the pacing interesting and unpredictable. . . . A quick and engaging read." - Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062387981
  • ISBN 10: 0062387987
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 08/18/2020
  • Pages: 176
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Novels in Verse
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Dating & Sex
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Girls & Women

What Goes Up by Christine Heppermann

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.