The Lightness of Hands

by Jeff Garvin

On Sale: 04/14/2020

The Lightness of Hands

Enlarge Book Cover

The Lightness of Hands

by Jeff Garvin

On Sale: 04/14/2020

Format:

About the Book

A quirky and heartfelt coming-of-age story about a teen girl with bipolar II who signs her failed magician father up to perform his legendary but failed illusion on live TV in order to make enough money to pay for the medications they need—from the author of Symptoms of Being Human. Perfect for fans of Adi Alsaid, David Arnold, and Arvin Ahmadi.  

Sixteen-year-old Ellie Dante is desperate for something in her life to finally go right. Her father was a famous stage magician until he attempted an epic illusion on live TV—and failed. Now Ellie lives with her dad in a beat-up RV, attending high school online and performing with him at birthday parties and bars across the Midwest to make ends meet.

But when the gigs dry up, their insurance lapses, leaving Dad’s heart condition unchecked and forcing Ellie to battle her bipolar II disorder without medication.

Then Ellie receives a call from a famous magic duo, who offer fifteen thousand dollars and a shot at redemption: they want her father to perform the illusion that wrecked his career—on their live TV special, which shoots in Los Angeles in ten days. 

Ellie knows her dad will refuse—but she takes the deal anyway, then lies to persuade him to head west. With the help of her online-only best friend and an unusual guy she teams up with along the way, Ellie makes a plan to stage his comeback. But when her lie is exposed, she’ll have to confront her illness and her choices head-on to save her father—and herself.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“An important, moving portrayal of the way mental illness affects the life of a teenage girl; a worthy addition to any library.”  - School Library Journal (starred review)

“Garvin's portrayal of Ellie's bipolar experience is exceptional; the world of magic is also superbly rendered." - Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062382894
  • ISBN 10: 0062382896
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 04/14/2020
  • Pages: 400
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Parents
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Mental Illness

The Lightness of Hands by Jeff Garvin

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.