A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic

by Lisa Papademetriou

On Sale: 10/06/2015

A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic

by Lisa Papademetriou

On Sale: 10/06/2015

Format:

About the Book

Bestseller and author of the popular middle grade series Confectionately Yours Lisa Papademetriou is back with a magical, page-turning adventure for readers of all ages—a touching tale about destiny and the invisible threads that link us all, ultimately, to one another.

Kai and Leila are both finally having an adventure. For Leila, that means a globe-crossing journey to visit family in Pakistan for the summer; for Kai, it means being stuck with her crazy great-aunt in Texas while her mom looks for a job. In each of their bedrooms, they discover a copy of a blank, old book called The Exquisite Corpse. Kai writes three words on the first page—and suddenly, they magically appear in Leila's copy on the other side of the planet. Kai's words are soon followed by line after line of the long-ago, romantic tale of Ralph T. Flabbergast and his forever-love, Edwina Pickle. As the two take turns writing, the tale unfolds, connecting both girls to each other, and to the past, in a way they never could have imagined.

A heartfelt, vividly told multicultural story about fate and how our stories shape it.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Lisa Papademetriou’s prose and sense of place dazzles the ear and eye, while the adventure and mystery binds us from page to page. Now that’s sleight of hand!” - Rita Williams-Garcia, Newbery Honor Winner

“Magic! It’s everywhere—in music, in moths, in an old handwritten book. But the real magic is the exquisite storytelling that sweeps us along until the last wonderful page. This is a book that leaves shimmers in the very air.” - Kathi Appelt, New York Times bestselling author of The Underneath and Keeper

“A lively, heartwarming, sometimes perilous tale packed with creepy elements, appealing characters…and more than a few laughs.” - Common Sense Media

“A rollicking adventure... Engaging and appealing, especially to those who have never quite fit in, this novel is sure to satisfy.” - School Library Journal

“Begging to be read aloud, this is a fun book for middle grade readers, and it will surely inspire them to read—and write—more.” - Booklist

“A beguiling tale of... enduring love and nascent self-discovery.” - Kirkus Reviews

“The developing mystery and the promise of new friendships and second chances make for emotionally satisfying engagement… Despite the contemporary setting, the book has an old-fashioned quality of domestic fantasy that will appeal to fans of E. Nesbit and Edward Eager.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“I, for one, did not want the story to end.” - Time for Kids

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062371218
  • ISBN 10: 0062371215
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 10/06/2015
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Books & Libraries
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic

A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic by Lisa Papademetriou

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.