Aerie

by Maria Dahvana Headley

On Sale: 10/04/2016

Aerie

by Maria Dahvana Headley

On Sale: 10/04/2016

Format:

About the Book

The stunning sequel to Maria Dahvana Headley’s bestselling, critically acclaimed Magonia tells the story of one girl who must make an impossible choice between two families, two homes—and two versions of herself.

Aza Ray is back on earth. Her boyfriend, Jason, is overjoyed. Her family is healed. She’s living a normal life, or as normal as it can be if you’ve spent the past year dying, waking up on a sky ship, and discovering that your song can change the world.

As in, not normal. Part of Aza still yearns for the clouds, no matter how much she loves the people on the ground.

When Jason’s paranoia over Aza’s safety causes him to make a terrible mistake, Aza finds herself a fugitive in Magonia, tasked with opposing her radical, bloodthirsty, recently escaped mother, Zal Quel, and her singing partner, Dai. She must travel to the edge of the world in search of a legendary weapon, the Flock, in a journey through fire and identity that will transform her forever.

Told in Maria Headley’s trademark John Green–meets–Neil Gaiman style, Aerie is sure to satisfy the many readers who can’t wait to return to the spellbinding world of Magonia.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Gorgeous, hopeful, heroic, as far-out fantastical as a lost Bowie song—a wild and wonderful novel that makes you glad to be alive.” - Libba Bray, New York Times bestselling author of Lair of Dreams

“The stunner in this novel is the romance between Aza and Jason that… transforms slowly to something that is broken and imperfect but also intentional and heart-wrenchingly beautiful. Readers [will] happily return here after diving into that splendid start.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“The dual-voiced narrative... offers intriguing characterization and gender dynamics, paired with fascinatingly complex world-building that readers familiar with the series will especially enjoy.” - Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“A well-paced, cinematic adventure.” - Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR MAGONIA: “Maria Dahvana Headley is a firecracker: she’s whip smart with a heart, and she writes like a dream.” - Neil Gaiman, bestselling author of The Graveyard Book and Coraline

“Magonia is magical. A high-flying, refreshing, and literally out-of-the-blue fantasy with great characters, emotional depth, and a unique fantasy world that I never saw coming.” - Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Red Queen

“Headley riffs like an improv comic… funny, furious, and vulnerable. The haunting conclusion leaves many issues unresolved, but the ferocious, intelligent power of Aza and Jason’s bond is completely affirmed. Sweeping, strange, and richly imagined, the novel is ideal for fans of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone.” - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“With lush writing, memorable world building, and an array of peculiar characters, this is sure to thrill readers looking for a distinctive, imaginative tale in the vein of Laini Taylor and Neil Gaiman.” - Booklist

“The painful, sarcastic beauty of Aza’s interactions down below in the everyday world begs comparisons to John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars.“ - Kirkus Reviews

“The book races to an epic confrontation that will leave readers thrilled… romance, danger, and world-building combine.” - School Library Journal

“The sweeping, lyrical language in both parts of the book is captivating, with haunting scenes woven from carefully chosen, sharply evocative descriptions.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“[A] weird, unique, and beautifully crafted book.” - Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062320551
  • ISBN 10: 0062320556
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 10/04/2016
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Death & Dying
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / General

Aerie by Maria Dahvana Headley

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.