A Flicker in the Clarity

by Amy McNamara

On Sale: 06/12/2018

A Flicker in the Clarity

Enlarge Book Cover

A Flicker in the Clarity

by Amy McNamara

On Sale: 06/12/2018

Format:

About the Book

Award-winning author Amy McNamara explores the emotional fallout after a girl cuts ties with her best friend. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.

Evie and Emma are inseparable. Two halves of a whole, they balance each other until Evie makes a flip decision that gets Emma in serious trouble.

Feeling the sting of betrayal, Emma freezes Evie out. Evie is full of regret, desperately sorry, sad, and—for the first time in her life—entirely alone.

Then Evie meets Theo, a boy who offers her a view of the world through a different lens. Just as she lets herself fall for Theo, Emma resurfaces—but not without consequence.

Emma’s erratic behavior, drunken mishaps, and panicked phone calls leave Evie afraid there’s something deeper going on. Evie wants to help Emma, but Emma is bent on self-destruction.

All Evie wanted was her friend back—but can you help someone who doesn’t want to be saved?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“McNamara’s lyrical novel poignantly explores the damange wrought by codependent friendships. With pages teeming with evocative, figurative language and a moving focus on self-discovery, this will appeal to fans of character-driven stories about emotional growth.” - ALA Booklist

“Lacerating authenticity. Distressingly plausible. There’s a whiff of Fine’s amazing The Tulip Touch here in the friendship that’s gone too far.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“This is life as it truly is, messy and complicated, for which McNamara presents a perfectly compatible narrative.” - Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“Thoughtfully constructed. McNamara gives readers a story of friendship and learning when it’s time to let go.” - Publishers Weekly

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062308344
  • ISBN 10: 0062308343
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 06/12/2018
  • Pages: 432
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age

A Flicker in the Clarity by Amy McNamara

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.