A Drop of Night

by Stefan Bachmann

On Sale: 03/14/2017

A Drop of Night

by Stefan Bachmann

On Sale: 03/14/2017

Format:

About the Book

A genre-bending thriller from internationally bestselling author Stefan Bachmann perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Joss Whedon’s The Cabin in the Woods. “A fast-paced thrill ride . . . Chilling . . . The suspense begins from the first page. I Know What You Did Last Summer meets Frankenstein.”—YA Books Central

Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she’s been chosen to participate in an exclusive program that includes an all-expenses-paid trip to France and a chance to explore the hidden underground Palais du Papillon, or Palace of the Butterfly. Along with four other gifted teenagers, Anouk will be one of the first people to set foot in the palace in more than two hundred years. But the expedition is not all it seems. The students’ supposed benefactors are trying to kill them. And so is the palace itself, which is filled with deadly traps and invisible monsters. Can Anouk and the others figure out how to work together and escape? Bachmann’s masterful scene-building alternates between Anouk’s flight through the palace and the struggles of Aurélie, who escaped the French Revolution by fleeing into the Palais du Papillon in 1789. “Certain to please those who demand constant action blended with their historical fiction.”—Booklist

Critical Praise

“Bachmann’s writing is as polished as in his earlier books—the violence is fittingly gruesome, the decadent and mazelike palace is gorgeously described, and Anouk has an engagingly snarky narrative voice.” — Publishers Weekly

“Bachmann keeps the pages turning with this thriller…The peculiar circumstances add to the strange atmosphere and also to the suspense, lending the book an appealing, unworldly quality. When the explanation finally arrives, it fits quite well with the odd atmosphere. Bizarre and hugely suspenseful.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Anouk’s and Aurélie’s stories skillfully mirror each other and are engaging…it is certain to please those who demand constant action blended with their historical fiction.” — Booklist

“The sadistic house of horrors is fantastically drawn…readers looking for a scare for scare’s sake will revel in the grotesqueness and cheer when Anouk and company take down their captors for a satisfying end.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

-

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062289933
  • ISBN 10: 0062289934
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 03/14/2017
  • Pages: 464
  • List Price:13.50 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Horror
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Action & Adventure / General

A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.