The Keepers: The Box and the Dragonfly

by Ted Sanders, Iacopo Bruno

On Sale: 03/03/2015

Read a Sample Enlarge Book Cover

The Keepers: The Box and the Dragonfly

by Ted Sanders

illustrated by Iacopo Bruno

On Sale: 03/03/2015

Format:

About the Book

Experience the fantastic adventure filled with magical objects, secret sects, and life as we know it on the line! Mixing magic and physics, Ted Sanders has created an epic story that has the feel of classic fantasy but twists it into something new and innovative.

From the moment Horace F. Andrews sees the sign from the bus—a sign with his own name on it—everything changes. The sighting leads him underground, to the House of Answers, a hidden warehouse full of mysterious objects. But there, he finds only questions. What is this curious place? Who are the strange, secretive people who entrust him with a rare and immensely powerful gift? And what is he to do with it?

When Horace finds the Box of Promises in the curio shop, he quickly discovers that ordinary-looking objects can hold extraordinary power. From the enormous, sinister man shadowing him to the gradual mastery of his newfound abilities to his encounters with Chloe—a girl who has an astonishing talent of her own—Horace follows a path that puts the pair in the middle of a centuries-old conflict between two warring factions in which every decision they make could have disastrous consequences. 

Experience the fantastic adventure filled with magical objects, secret sects, and life as we know it on the line! Mixing magic and physics, Ted Sanders has created an epic story that has the feel of classic fantasy but twists it into something new and innovative.

From the moment Horace F. Andrews sees the sign from the bus—a sign with his own name on it—everything changes. The sighting leads him underground, to the House of Answers, a hidden warehouse full of mysterious objects. But there, he finds only questions. What is this curious place? Who are the strange, secretive people who entrust him with a rare and immensely powerful gift? And what is he to do with it?

When Horace finds the Box of Promises in the curio shop, he quickly discovers that ordinary-looking objects can hold extraordinary power. From the enormous, sinister man shadowing him to the gradual mastery of his newfound abilities to his encounters with Chloe—a girl who has an astonishing talent of her own—Horace follows a path that puts the pair in the middle of a centuries-old conflict between two warring factions in which every decision they make could have disastrous consequences. 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“A winding fantasy adventure that will appeal to readers of J. K. Rowling and Rick Riordan.” - New York Times Book Review

“An epic adventure of self-discovery, magic, tragedy and blurred lines of loyalty for middle-grade lovers of fantasy.” - Kirkus Reviews

“The magical world is full of detail and wonder. Fans of Harry Potter and Gregor the Overlander will find this one entertaining.” - School Library Journal

“Sanders uses mystery, action, and suspense to intrigue readers. A rousing start for the Keepers series.” - ALA Booklist

“Ted Sanders combines elements of the best classic fantasy adventures with ingenious twists that are all his own.” - Caroline Carlson, author of The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series

The Keepers is a wildly original adventure, electric-paced and brain-bending, that will enthrall kids and adults alike. It’s more than a fantasy, building physics and folklore into its search to answer questions about whether true magic can ever exist.” - Soman Chainani, author of the New York Times bestselling series The School for Good and Evil

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062275820
  • ISBN 10: 0062275828
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 03/03/2015
  • Pages: 544
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Science & Technology

The Keepers: The Box and the Dragonfly by Ted Sanders

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.