Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

by Jennifer Worth

On Sale: 03/12/2013

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

by Jennifer Worth

On Sale: 03/12/2013

Format:

About the Book

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062270061
  • ISBN 10: 0062270060
  • Imprint: Ecco
  • On Sale: 03/12/2013
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price:25.00 CAD
  • BISAC1 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Medical
  • BISAC2 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
  • BISAC3 : HISTORY / Europe / Great Britain / 20th Century

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End by Jennifer Worth

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.