Happily Ali After

And Other Fairly True Tales

by Ali Wentworth

On Sale: 06/09/2015

Happily Ali After

And Other Fairly True Tales

by Ali Wentworth

On Sale: 06/09/2015

Format:

About the Book

The actress, comedian, media darling, and New York Times bestselling author picks up where she left off in Ali in Wonderland, dissecting modern life—and this time, on a mission of self-improvement—in a series of laugh-out-loud comic vignettes.

Moved by a particularly inspirational tweet one day, Ali Wentworth resolves to live by the pithy maxims she discovers in her feeds. What begins as a sort of self-help project quickly turns into something far grander—and increasingly funnier—as the tweets she once viewed with irony become filled with increasing metaphysical importance. And thus begins her “Unhappiness Project.”

It’s not long before Ali expands her self-improvement quest to include parenting, relationship, fitness (or lack thereof), and dieting advice. The results are painfully (at times literally) clear: when it comes to self-help, sometimes you should leave it to the professionals.

At once endearing and hilarious, thoughtful and absurd, Happily Ali After is a thoroughly entertaining collection from “the girlfriend you want to have a glass of wine with, the one who makes you laugh because she sees the funny and the absurd in everything” (Huffington Post).

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Hilarious…. Her glass isn’t half full—it’s ‘empty and cracked.’” - Entertainment Weekly (the Must List)

“Razor-sharp.” - Cosmopolitan

“[A] collection of essays in Wentworth’s acerbic, bawdy voice….Wentworth makes for great company.” - Elle

“Irresistible.... She is sharply observant and incisively funny.... Readers who like Nora Ephron and Laurie Notaro won’t want to miss Wentworth. Reading this book is like sitting with a best girlfriend—how fitting it is that Wentworth dedicated it to all of hers.” - Library Journal

“Wentworth is funny. She gracefully and elegantly bares embarrassing stories from her past and hilariously conveys the challenges of her marriage ... and of raising their two children..... With wit, the author may inspire others to simply enjoy the moment and not let themselves get in the way.” - Kirkus

“Wentworth spins hilarious tales of parenting, relationships and, yes, getting older.” - People

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062238498
  • ISBN 10: 0062238493
  • Imprint: Harper
  • On Sale: 06/09/2015
  • Pages: 240
  • List Price:31.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : HUMOR / Form / Essays
  • BISAC2 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
  • BISAC3 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Entertainment & Performing Arts

Happily Ali After by Ali Wentworth

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.