Asylum

by Madeleine Roux

On Sale: 08/20/2013

Asylum

by Madeleine Roux

On Sale: 08/20/2013

Format:

About the Book

Madeleine Roux's New York Times bestselling Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-illustrated novel that Publishers Weekly called "a strong YA debut that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma on a place."

For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm. The dorm was formerly a sanatorium, more commonly known as an asylum. And not just any asylum—a last resort for the criminally insane.

As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline's twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on at Brookline . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum's dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary asylum, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.

Featuring found photographs from real asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Asylum is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity, perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

Don't miss any of the books in the Asylum series, or Madeleine Roux's shivery fantasy series, House of Furies!

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Days after reading Asylum, I’m still haunted by the images that Madeleine Roux’s words conjured. I just want to curl up inside her skull and exist for a while in its dark, twisted magnificence. Brilliant!” - Heather Brewer, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod

“Page-turning. Fans of ‘found footage’ horror will enjoy this visually creepy take on the haunted-institution setting.” - Kirkus Reviews

“The plentiful illustrations both advance the story line and immeasurably contribute to the spooky atmosphere. With its abundant jump scares, horror readers and fans of the TV show American Horror Story will delight in the fast-paced plot.” - Booklist

“Illustrations used in this book are from actual asylums, and the author builds the tension nicely as Dan receives what may be messages from an inmate. A good choice for readers who enjoy books with scary situations that lead to a solid climax.” - Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“A strong YA debut. Roux (aided by unsettling photo illustrations of abandoned asylums and tormented patients) creates an entertaining and occasionally brutal horror story that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma and terror on a place.” - Publishers Weekly

“Madeleine Roux’s Asylum takes the fondest dream of our collective nerdy childhood and handily turns it into the scariest collective nightmare.” -- Tor.com - Tor.com

“I started reading this one at my desk in broad daylight and still got goose bumps.” -- Glamour - Glamour

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062220967
  • ISBN 10: 0062220969
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 08/20/2013
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Horror
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories

Asylum by Madeleine Roux

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.