Sound

by Alexandra Duncan

On Sale: 09/22/2015

Sound

by Alexandra Duncan

On Sale: 09/22/2015

Format:

About the Book

Sound is the stand-alone companion to Alexandra Duncan's acclaimed debut novel Salvage, which was praised by internationally bestselling author Stephanie Perkins as "brilliant, feminist science fiction." For fans of Beth Revis, Firefly, and Battlestar Galactica.

As a child, Ava's adopted sister, Miyole, watched her mother take to the stars, piloting her own ship from Earth to space making deliveries. Now a teen herself, Miyole is finally living her dream as a research assistant on her very first space voyage. If she plays her cards right, she could even be given permission to conduct her own research and experiments in her own habitat lab on the flight home. But when her ship saves a rover that has been viciously attacked by looters and kidnappers, Miyole, along with a rescued rover girl named Cassia, embarks on a mission to rescue Cassia's abducted brother, and that changes the course of Miyole's life forever. Harrowing, provocative, and stunning, Sound begins roughly a decade after the action in the author's critically acclaimed Salvage, and is a powerful stand-alone companion.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Meaningful and well-wrought…Unpredictable plot, vivid settings, and a queer, dark-skinned black girl as a protagonist in far-future science fiction: essential.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This adventure novel will appeal to readers looking for science fiction with strong female heroines and abundant diversity.” - School Library Journal

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062220172
  • ISBN 10: 0062220179
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 09/22/2015
  • Pages: 496
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Science Fiction / General
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Girls & Women
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / General (see also headings under Family)

Sound by Alexandra Duncan

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.