Pretty Girl-13

by Liz Coley

On Sale: 03/19/2013

Read a Sample Enlarge Book Cover

Pretty Girl-13

by Liz Coley

On Sale: 03/19/2013

Format:

ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults

ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers

About the Book

Reminiscent of the Elizabeth Smart case, Pretty Girl-13 is a disturbing and powerful psychological thriller about a girl who must piece together the mystery of her kidnapping and abuse. Perfect for fans of books like Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why, Elizabeth Scott's Living Dead Girl, and Caroline B. Cooney's The Face on the Milk Carton series, Pretty Girl-13 is a haunting yet ultimately uplifting story about the healing power of courage, hope, and love.

Angie Chapman was thirteen years old when she ventured into the woods on a Girl Scout camping trip. Now she's returned home . . . only to find that it's three years later and she's sixteen—or at least that's what everyone tells her. What happened to the last three years of her life? With a tremendous amount of courage, Angie embarks on a journey to discover the fragments of her lost time. She eventually discovers a terrifying secret and must decide: what do you do when you remember things you wish you could forget?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Unflinchingly honest and brilliantly conceived. This book will haunt you.” - Lauren Myracle, New York Times Bestselling author of Shine and Bliss

“It’s a harrowing journey with no shortage of creepy moments and imagery, and readers should be fascinated by Angie’s efforts to put her life and mind in order after years of abuse.” - Publishers Weekly

“Chilling...fascinating.” - ALA Booklist

“Readers interested in psychological explorations will appreciate and admire Angie’s struggles and journey.” - School Library Journal

“Readers...will certainly find themselves emotionally involved in [Angie’s] story from beginning to end.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A story of survival and resilience that will haunt you long after you turn the last page.” - Cinda Williams Chima

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062127372
  • ISBN 10: 0062127373
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 03/19/2013
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Physical & Emotional Abuse (see also Social Themes / Sexual Abuse)
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Sexual Abuse

Pretty Girl-13 by Liz Coley

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.