The Bitter Kingdom

by Rae Carson

On Sale: 08/27/2013

The Bitter Kingdom

by Rae Carson

On Sale: 08/27/2013

Format:

About the Book

“I love this series to pieces and so should you.”—Marie Lu, bestselling author of Warcross

The third book in Rae Carson’s award-winning and New York Times–bestselling trilogy! In the deeply satisfying conclusion, seventeen-year-old sorcerer-queen Elisa travels into the unknown realm of the enemy to win back her true love, save her country, and uncover the final secrets of her destiny. Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Brandon Sanderson.

The champion must not waver. The champion must not fear. The gate of darkness closes.

Elisa is a fugitive. Her enemies have solen the man she loves, and they await her at the gate of darkness. Her country is on the brink of civil war, her own soldiers ordered to kill her on sight.

Elisa will lead her loyal companions deep into the enemy’s kingdom, a land of ice and snow and vicious magic, to rescue Hector and win back her throne. Her power grows with every step, and the shocking secrets she will uncover could change the course of history.

Don’t miss The Empire of Dreams, Rae Carson’s action-packed return to the world of The Girl of Fire and Thorns!

 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“What a conclusion to a spellbinding trilogy! The Bitter Kingdom cements Rae Carson as one of the best fantasy authors to grace the shelves. I love this series to pieces, and so should you.” - Marie Lu, New York Times best-selling author of the Legend trilogy

“The perfect conclusion to one of the most brilliant modern YA fantasies on the market today. Readers will love this whole series, and while I didn’t want to leave Elisa’s world, The Bitter Kingdom hits all the right notes. This is YA fantasy as it should be.” - Beth Revis, author of the nationally best-selling Across the Universe

“Action-packed … excellent … with terrific world-building and character development. … Also tackles classic fantasy tropes, springing off into unusual and refreshing directions.…Carson brings her series to an end with a thrilling climax.” - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A smashing ending to a trilogy that …developed into the stellar journey of a girl who would be queen.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This is a spell-binding book. It is not often that all three books in a series are equally enthralling. Those who love Tamora Pierce and Kristen Cashore will love the tales of Elisa.” - Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“This is that rare series in which each volume is better than the last. … An action-packed and thoughtful end to an ambitious series.” - Horn Book Magazine

“Elisa continues to be a heroine worth rooting for … and by the fairy-tale ending, readers will have no doubt that her newly formed empire will thrive. … An altogether satisfying conclusion to an entertaining trilogy.” - School Library Journal

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062026545
  • ISBN 10: 0062026542
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 08/27/2013
  • Pages: 448
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Girls & Women
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.