Someone Else's Garden

A Novel

by Dipika Rai

On Sale: 02/01/2011

Someone Else's Garden

A Novel

by Dipika Rai

On Sale: 02/01/2011

Format:

About the Book

In the vein of Thrity Umrigar’s The Space Between Us, Dipika Rai’s soulful debut novel is a moving multi-generational tale of mothers and daughters in rural India struggling to break free of the social traditions fencing them in. Standing out among works by Shobhan Bantwal, Chitra Divakaruni, and other emerging Indian writers, Rai’s Someone Else’s Garden offers a rare look at life in the Indian countryside, far from the more well-trafficked literary settings of New Delhi and Mumbai, in an evocative, atmospheric story of one woman’s soulful fight to take control of her life.

Critical Praise

“Beautifully written. . . . [With] depth of feeling.” — Publishers Weekly

“A brave and ambitious first novel set in rural India, Someone Else’s Garden deals frankly with the brutality faced by many women and tells the story of how one woman achieves redemption.” — Sam Miller, author of Delhi, Adventures in a Megacity

“Dipika Rai turns rural India into a setting for an epic tale of love and loss that feels timeless and familiar.” — Jamal Mahjoub, author of The Drift Latitudes and Travelling with Djinns

“In the manner of Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance, this is a multigenerational tale of Indian life. . . . A universal story of good-versus-evil and tradition-versus-modernity as well as of the redemptive power of belief.” — Booklist

-

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062000354
  • ISBN 10: 0062000357
  • Imprint: Harper Perennial
  • On Sale: 02/01/2011
  • Pages: 400
  • List Price:17.50 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION: World Literature / India / 21st Century
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / General
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Asian American
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / Historical

Someone Else's Garden by Dipika Rai

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.