Don't Sing at the Table

Life Lessons from My Grandmothers

by Adriana Trigiani

On Sale: 10/04/2011

Don't Sing at the Table

Life Lessons from My Grandmothers

by Adriana Trigiani

On Sale: 10/04/2011

Format:

About the Book

"No one ever reads just one of Trigiani’s wonderfully quirky tales. Once you pick up the first, you are hooked.” —BookPage

New York Times bestselling author Adriana Trigiani shares a treasure trove of insight and guidance from her two grandmothers: time-tested, common sense advice on the most important aspects of a woman’s life, from childhood to the golden years. Seamlessly blending anecdote with life lesson, Don’t Sing at the Table tells the two vibrant women’s real-life stories—how they fell in love, nurtured their marriages, balanced raising children with being savvy businesswomen, and reinvented themselves with each new decade. For readers of Big Stone Gap, Very Valentine, Lucia, Lucia, and Rococo, this loving memoir is the Trigiani family recipe for chicken soup for the soul

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Best-selling author Trigiani (Very Valentine) presents a loving paean to her Italian grandmothers... there is much warmth in these remembrances that will resonate with readers who enjoyed strong relationships with their own grandparents and know the value they can bring to our lives.” - Library Journal

“[C]harming… comforting lessons for readers seeking a simpler way of life.” - Kirkus Reviews

“Soothingly and with clarity…. Readers will find her strength and optimism helpful, and her legions of loyal fans will enjoy learning more about the women who influenced, inspired, and, according to Trigiani, made possible some of her best-selling fiction.” - Booklist

“Trigiani combines family and American history, reflections on lives well-lived, and sound advice to excellent effect, as a legacy to her daughter and a remembrance of two inimitable women.” - Publishers Weekly

“One of the reigning queens of women’s fiction.” - USA Today

“Delightful, energetic. . . . Trigiani is a seemingly effortless storyteller.” - Boston Globe

“Trigiani has certainly not lost her ability to breathe life into everything she writes.” - Roanoke Times

“Well crafted work with sometime lyrical, sometimes flat-out-funny writing.” - Fort Worth Star-Telegram

“Adriana Trigiani listens to her readers, then gives them what they want. ” - Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Dazzling.” - USA Today

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780061958953
  • ISBN 10: 0061958956
  • Imprint: Harper Paperbacks
  • On Sale: 10/04/2011
  • Pages: 240
  • List Price:17.50 CAD
  • BISAC1 : BODY, MIND & SPIRIT / Inspiration & Personal Growth
  • BISAC2 : FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS / Parenting / Grandparenting
  • BISAC3 : SELF-HELP / Personal Growth / General

Don't Sing at the Table by Adriana Trigiani

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.