Extra Yarn

A Caldecott Honor Award Winner

by Mac Barnett

On Sale: 01/17/2012

Extra Yarn

A Caldecott Honor Award Winner

by Mac Barnett

illustrated by Jon Klassen

On Sale: 01/17/2012

Format:

Amazon.com Best Books of the Year

E. B. White Read-Aloud Award

Amazon.com Best Books of the Month

ALA Booklist Editors’ Choice

IndieBound Indie Next List Top Ten Pick

School Library Journal Best Book

Caldecott Honor Book

Kirkus Reviews Best Children’s Book

Boston Globe–Horn Book Award

About the Book

From bestselling and award-winning author Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen comes Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller.

A young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book. With spare, gently humorous illustrations and a palette that moves from black-and-white to a range of color, this modern fairy tale has the feel of a new classic.

Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Peter Brown will love this book.

Critical Praise

“There’s nothing to say but—perfect.” — Lane Smith, New York Times bestselling author of It's a Book

“Understated illustrations and prose seamlessly construct an enchanting and mysterious tale.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Klassen’s deadpan, stylized illustrations impeccably complement Barnett’s quirky droll writing.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“Klassen’s pacing, especially the mostly wordless sequence when the box floats back to Annabelle on a triangle of an iceberg, is impeccable. The final spread, all light and yarn-covered tree limbs, brings Barnett’s clever, quiet yarn full circle, to a little girl and a town, now colorful and happy.” — Horn Book (starred review)

“Reading like a droll fairy tale, this Barnett-Klassen collaboration is both seamless and magical. The spare, elegant text and art are also infused with plenty of deadpan humor. Quirky and wonderful, this story quietly celebrates a child’s ingenuity and her ability to change the world around her.” — Booklist (starred review)

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780061953385
  • ISBN 10: 0061953385
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 01/17/2012
  • Pages: 40
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Girls & Women
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play

Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.