Destiny, Rewritten

by Kathryn Fitzmaurice

On Sale: 03/17/2015

Destiny, Rewritten

by Kathryn Fitzmaurice

On Sale: 03/17/2015

Format:

About the Book

This sweet contemporary story about poetry, family, and determining your own destiny is perfect for fans of books by Wendy Mass, Joan Bauer, Sharon Creech, and Rebecca Stead.

Eleven-year-old Emily Elizabeth Davis has never met her father, so when a book of poetry with his name in it goes missing, Emily and her friends search all over their hometown of Berkeley, California, hoping to track it down. Meanwhile, even though her English-professor mother insists that Emily is destined to become a poet (she named her after Emily Dickinson!), Emily secretly corresponds with her idol, romance writer Danielle Steel.

As Publishers Weekly says, "Fitzmaurice's story deftly mingles Dickinson, Danielle Steel, a budding crush, and protesting tree sitters while maintaining suspense that leads to a satisfying ending."

Critical Praise

“Aptly set amid the hippie ambiance of Berkeley, Calif., and peopled by offbeat, but believable characters, Fitzmaurice’s story deftly mingles Dickinson, Danielle Steel, a budding crush, and protesting tree sitters while maintaining suspense that leads to a satisfying ending.” — Publishers Weekly

“A sweet book that should appeal to fans of Wendy Mass, Joan Bauer, Sharon Creech, and the like.” — School Library Journal

“There’s a proto-romance with classmate Connor Kelly, attention paid to environmental issues and some interesting poetry, but the focus is squarely on Emily’s growing self-determination. Emotionally, her story rings true. Readers will applaud Emily’s newfound understanding of the workings of destiny and might even follow her lead.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Emily’s exploration of fate is intriguingly presented, and a happy ending comes about through both Emily’s choices and pure luck, leaving readers with the pleasantly paradoxical idea that fate is both beyond and within one’s control...Emily is a strong and likable heroine.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

-

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780061625039
  • ISBN 10: 0061625035
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 03/17/2015
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:8.50 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Readers / Chapter Books
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Poetry (see also Stories in Verse)
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Stories in Verse (see also Poetry)
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Readers / Beginner
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Love & Romance
  • BISAC6 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)
  • BISAC7 : JUVENILE FICTION / Books & Libraries
  • BISAC8 : JUVENILE FICTION / Business, Careers, Occupations
  • BISAC9 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Stepfamilies
  • BISAC10 : JUVENILE FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories

Destiny, Rewritten by Kathryn Fitzmaurice

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.