How to Read Novels Like a Professor

A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary Form

by Thomas C. Foster

On Sale: 05/23/2017

How to Read Novels Like a Professor

A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary Form

by Thomas C. Foster

On Sale: 05/23/2017

Format:

About the Book

The follow-up and companion volume to the New York Times bestselling How to Read Literature Like a Professor—a lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun

Of all the literary forms, the novel is arguably the most discussed . . . and fretted over. From Miguel de Cervantes’s Don Quixote to the works of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, and today’s masters, the novel has grown with and adapted to changing societies and technologies, mixing tradition and innovation in every age throughout history.

Thomas C. Foster—the sage and scholar who ingeniously led readers through the fascinating symbolic codes of great literature in his first book, How to Read Literature Like a Professor—now examines the grammar of the popular novel. Exploring how authors’ choices about structure—point of view, narrative voice, first page, chapter construction, character emblems, and narrative (dis)continuity—create meaning and a special literary language, How to Read Novels Like a Professor shares the keys to this language with readers who want to get more insight, more understanding, and more pleasure from their reading.

Critical Praise

“By bringing his eminent scholarship to bear in doses measured for the common reader or occasional student, Professor Foster has done us all a generous turn. The trained eye, the tuned ear, the intellect possesed of simple cyphers brings the literary arts alive.” — Thomas Lynch, author of The Undertaking

“A smart, accessible, and thoroughly satisfying examination of what it means to read a work of literature. Guess what? It isn’t all that hard, not when you have a knowledgeable guide to show the way. Dante had his Virgil; for everyone else, there is Thomas Foster.” — Nicholas A. Basbanes, author of A Gentle Madness, Patience & Fortitude, and Among the Gently Mad

-

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780061340406
  • ISBN 10: 0061340405
  • Imprint: Harper Perennial
  • On Sale: 05/23/2017
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price:19.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : LANGUAGE ARTS & DISCIPLINES / Readers
  • BISAC2 : LITERARY CRITICISM / Books & Reading
  • BISAC3 : LITERARY CRITICISM / Comparative Literature

How to Read Novels Like a Professor by Thomas C. Foster

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.