Not a Box

by Antoinette Portis, Antoinette Portis

On Sale: 12/12/2006

Not a Box

by Antoinette Portis

illustrated by Antoinette Portis

On Sale: 12/12/2006

Format:

ALA Notable Children’s Book

Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book

New York Public Library's “One Hundred Titles for Reading and Sharing”

About the Book

Don't miss this wholly original celebration of the power of imagination, winner of a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Award. This picture book with its visual humor and simple dialogue is great for fans of Mo Willems and Crockett Johnson—and it's a thoughtful graduation gift for creative people of all ages.

A box is just a box...unless it's not a box. From mountain to rocket ship, a small rabbit shows that a box will go as far as the imagination allows.

Inspired by a memory of sitting in a box on her driveway with her sister, Antoinette Portis captures the thrill when pretend feels so real that it actually becomes real—when the imagination takes over inside a cardboard box, and through play, a child is transported to a world where anything is possible.

After reading this book aloud, continue the fun by drawing shapes like a triangle or circle, and asking your child what the triangle is NOT! 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780061123221
  • ISBN 10: 0061123226
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 12/12/2006
  • Pages: 32
  • List Price:19.99 CAD
  • Ages: 0 to 4
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Concepts / Size & Shape
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Rabbits

Not a Box by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.