I'll Never Be Long Gone

A Novel

by Thomas Christopher Greene

On Sale: 10/24/2006

I'll Never Be Long Gone

A Novel

by Thomas Christopher Greene

On Sale: 10/24/2006

Format:

About the Book

The lives of brothers Charlie and Owen Bender are changed forever on the night their father walks into the Vermont woods with a death wish and a shotgun. The second shock comes when his suicide note bequeaths the family's restaurant to Charlie alone, while leaving Owen with instructions to follow his own path, wherever it may take him.

Years later, the restaurant is a success. The void in Charlie's life, created by his beloved brother's absence, is finally filled when a passionate affair becomes a deeply satisfying marriage. And now prodigal son Owen is returning home, to be welcomed back into the family fold. But the cruel legacy that tore a brotherhood apart created wounds not easily healed . . . and there must be reckoning.

Critical Praise

“Greene makes us see these things so clearly that they seem like sensual daydreams right there on the page.” — Arizona Republic

“Written gracefully and with great sensitivity... in the tradition of Kent Haruf’s Eventide and Mark Spragg’s An Unfinished Life.” — Howard Frank Mosher, author of Disappearances and Waiting For Teddy Williams

“Well-crafted... Greene is a reasonably engaging storyteller... intimate, minimalist scenes capture the flavor of smalltown life. — Publishers Weekly, Praise for Mirror Lake

“A story of love, betrayal, and violence that kept me turning the pages to the end.” — Susan Cheever, Praise for Mirror Lake

“A bright new voice in American Literature.” — Brett Lott, Praise for Mirror Lake

“Greene’s novel unfolds... with words filled with beauty and strength.” — Tampa Tribune, Praise for Mirror Lake

-

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780060765811
  • ISBN 10: 006076581X
  • Imprint: Harper Paperbacks
  • On Sale: 10/24/2006
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price:19.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Psychological
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Family Life / Siblings
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / General

I'll Never Be Long Gone by Thomas Christopher Greene

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.