Loser

by Jerry Spinelli

On Sale: 05/01/2018

Loser

by Jerry Spinelli

On Sale: 05/01/2018

Format:

Book Sense Pick

Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book Award (Vermont)

Garden State Children's Book Award (New Jersey)

Judy Lopez Memorial Award Honor Book

Maine Student Book Award

Mark Twain Award (Missouri)

New York Public Library's “One Hundred Titles for Reading and Sharing”

Publishers Weekly Best Book

Sasquatch Reading Award (Washington)

About the Book

From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes a powerful story about how not fitting in just might lead to an incredible life. This classic book is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Carl Hiaasen. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip."

Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero."

With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy's individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs.

The perfect classroom read.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780060540746
  • ISBN 10: 0060540745
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 05/01/2018
  • Pages: 240
  • List Price:8.50 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Bullying
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings

Loser by Jerry Spinelli

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.