The Freedom Line

The Brave Men and Women Who Rescued Allied Airmen from the Nazis During World War II

by Peter Eisner

On Sale: 05/31/2005

The Freedom Line

The Brave Men and Women Who Rescued Allied Airmen from the Nazis During World War II

by Peter Eisner

On Sale: 05/31/2005

Format:

About the Book

Compared to Casablanca by the Washington Post, The Freedom Line is a page-turning story of a group of resistance workers who secreted downed Allied fighter pilots through France and into safety in Spain during World War II—perfect for fans of Apple TV's Masters of the Air.

As war raged against Hitler's Germany, an increasing number of Allied fliers were shot down on missions against Nazi targets in occupied Europe. Many fliers parachuted safely behind enemy lines only to find themselves stranded and hunted down by the Gestapo. The Freedom Line traces the thrilling and true story of Robert Grimes, a 20–year–old American B–17 pilot whose plane was shot down over Belgium on Oct. 20, 1943. Wounded, disoriented, and scared, he was rescued by operatives of the Comet Line, a group of tenacious young women and men from Belgium, France, and Spain who joined forces to rescue the Allied aircrews and take them to safety. And on Christmas Eve 1943, he and a group of fellow Americans faced unexpected sudden danger and tragedy on the border between France and Spain.

The road to safety was a treacherous journey by train, by bicycle, and on foot that stretched hundreds of miles across occupied France to the Pyrenees Mountains at the Spanish border. Armed with guile and spirit, the selfless civilian fighters of the Comet Line had risked their lives to create this underground railroad, and by this time in the war, they had saved hundreds of Americans, British, Australians, and other Allied airmen.

Based on interviews with the survivors and in–depth archival research, The Freedom Line is the story of a group of friends who chose to act on their own out of a deep respect for liberty and human dignity. Theirs was a courage that presumed to take on a fearfully powerful foe with few defences.

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780060096649
  • ISBN 10: 0060096640
  • Imprint: William Morrow
  • On Sale: 05/31/2005
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : HISTORY: Wars & Conflicts / World War II / European Theater
  • BISAC2 : HISTORY / United States / 20th Century
  • BISAC3 : HISTORY / Europe / Spain & Portugal
  • BISAC4 : HISTORY / Military / World War II
  • BISAC5 : HISTORY / Military / Aviation
  • BISAC6 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Military
  • BISAC7 : HISTORY: Military / Vehicles / Air
  • BISAC8 : HISTORY / Military / United States
  • BISAC9 : HISTORY / Modern / 20th Century
  • BISAC10 : HISTORY / Military / Napoleonic Wars
  • BISAC11 : HISTORY / United States / State & Local / General
  • BISAC12 : HISTORY / United States / 21st Century
  • BISAC13 : HISTORY / United States / 19th Century
  • BISAC14 : HISTORY / Military / Afghan War (2001-)

The Freedom Line by Peter Eisner

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.