A Wedding for the Cornish Girls (The Cornish Girls Series, Book 5)

by Betty Walker

On Sale: 08/17/2023

A Wedding for the Cornish Girls (The Cornish Girls Series, Book 5)

Enlarge Book Cover

A Wedding for the Cornish Girls (The Cornish Girls Series, Book 5)

by Betty Walker

On Sale: 08/17/2023

Format:

About the Book

The fifth heartwarming instalment in the Cornish Girls series

Can love still thrive in the uncertainty of war?

Cornwall, Summer 1943

Eighteen-year-old Alice receives a mysterious work summons for a special unit in Bude. Nervous but excited, she starts training straight away.

Meanwhile, land girl Penny also heads to Bude. With a new job at the village farm shop, she dreams of finding love.

Young widow Florence runs the local boarding house. When American troops are billeted to stay, Florence butts heads with their Staff Sergeant immediately.

But might sparks fly for Florence when she least expects it? Can Penny pluck up the courage to pursue romance? And will Alice be up to the task?

Most importantly, can love triumph for the Cornish Girls, even amidst the uncertainty of war?

A heart-warming tale of love in wartime, for fans of Nancy Revell and Donna Douglas.

Readers have been swept away by A Wedding for the Cornish Girls:

A brilliant read and one I really enjoyed. The characters are loveable and varied … I found myself completely drawn into the story.’ Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘This book is like pulling on your favourite jumper: it’s warming, comforting and you don’t want to put it down!’ Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Betty writes in such a way that you can picture yourself down in the West Country with the characters. I find the stories easy to read and hard to put down! Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Reading about the three women, how their lives connect, their work, their romances, and how they cope with the war all made for a captivating read. American army men are also a large part of the story … so you just know there are going to be some fun and romantic scenes!’ Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Plenty of twists in this story of Alice, Penny and Florence. It explores true friendship, comradeship, women pulling together at a time of war. The characters are heartwarming with their grit and resilience. A really enjoyable read and I’m looking forward to what’s next. Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Another great story about the Cornish Girls. It’s so easy to feel involved in the story and the ups and downs of the girls’ lives as the characters are well described and the storyline realistic. I wonder what happens next! Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘This is the fifth in the series ,.. I was somewhat familiar with the background but it could be read as a standalone. The characters captured my interest & the research into the times makes it feel authentic. Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I just started reading this with my Nan … My Nan is aged 82 and loves books, which is where I get it from. She has recently been in a bit of a reading slump, this book has gotten her out of it!’ Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I love this series! I’ve been an avid follower of the Cornish girls since the very beginning and I always do an excited little happy dance every time I see a new book release and a new book on the horizon!’ Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Critical Praise

<b>Praise for the Cornish Girls:</b>

‘A fascinating story, beautifully written, with interesting characters I really liked. A most enjoyable read!’ <b>Kitty Neale</b>

‘A warm-hearted story – at times I laughed and at others I held my breath … I loved the characters and I’m delighted it is the first in a series’ <b>Pam Weaver</b>

‘This is the first in a series, which is great news for fans of Betty Walker and the Cornish Girls!’ <b><i>Historical Novel Society</i></b>

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780008615819
  • ISBN 10: 0008615810
  • Imprint: Avon
  • On Sale: 08/17/2023
  • Pages: 416
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Historical / World War II
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Friendship
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Medical
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / Sagas

A Wedding for the Cornish Girls (The Cornish Girls Series, Book 5) by Betty Walker

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.