Her Forgotten Promise

by Corin Burnside

On Sale: 07/21/2023

Her Forgotten Promise

by Corin Burnside

On Sale: 07/21/2023

Format:

About the Book

‘A story of love, loss, sacrifice and bravery. After this stunning debut, I can't wait to see what Corin writes next!’ Kathleen McGurl, author of The Girl from Bletchley Park

A wartime secret. A journey to uncover the truth.

Claire has always had a special bond with her aunt Margaret, but she’s astonished when Margaret suddenly begins talking about a friend called Agnes, who Margaret met working as a WAAF in World War 2 – a past Claire had no idea about. Margaret and Agnes were best friends until Agnes started acting strangely, becoming secretive and distant. Then one morning, Agnes vanished and never returned home, leaving Margaret distraught.

Claire promises to delve back into the past and help discover what happened to Agnes. But Margaret’s memory is rapidly deteriorating, and apart from an old photograph of the two women, Agnes seems to have disappeared into thin air. Can Claire uncover Agnes’ story before it’s too late?

An utterly heart-wrenching and unputdownable novel about love, loss and sacrifice, perfect for fans of Fiona Valpy, Lorna Cook and Kathryn Hughes.

Readers LOVE Her Forgotten Promise!

Five stars for this very accomplished debut, with characters that will pull your heartstrings and an intriguing mystery that made me rush through the chapters.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A beautiful romance… Loved it!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I was completely swept up in this epic story of love, loss and adventure… I hugely recommend this debut!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

So well written and meticulously researched… The characters were really believable and I found it easy to picture the story in my head.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I feel like I have lost a group of friends after finishing this book… a great storyline to devour.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A well written and captivating story.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Critical Praise

<p><strong>Praise for Corin Burnside</strong></p><p>‘<strong>This novel has everything</strong> – a tragic love story, thrilling wartime adventures, a very brave heroine, icy cold danger, a beautiful setting, and a dashing love interest.<strong> I thoroughly enjoyed it</strong>!’ Kerry Barrett</p><p>‘A heart-rending story of courage, sacrifice and a love that endures even when all hope has gone. <strong>Hugely engaging, I thoroughly enjoyed it</strong>!’ Anita Frank</p><p>‘<strong>A smart, poignant spin on a wartime romance</strong> and the missed opportunities that return to haunt us no matter how hard we try to forget.’ Sarah Smith</p><p>‘<strong>Moving and thrilling – I was completely immersed</strong> and very much look forward to more from this talented author.’ Kate Galley</p><p>‘<strong>Immersive settings and well-drawn characters make this hard to put down</strong> and will remain with you long after you turn the final page.’ Rebecca Kelly</p><p>‘A <strong>wonderfully evocative</strong> story.’ Suzanne Ewart</p><p>‘A <strong>truly transporting novel</strong>.’ Carolyn O’Brien</p> -

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780008603359
  • ISBN 10: 0008603359
  • Imprint: HQ Digital
  • On Sale: 07/21/2023
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:0.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Historical / World War II
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Lesbian
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / War & Military

Her Forgotten Promise by Corin Burnside

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.