The Socialites

by Caroline Lamond

On Sale: 09/20/2024

The Socialites

by Caroline Lamond

On Sale: 09/20/2024

Format:

About the Book

For fans of Fiona Davis, Kathleen Tessaro and Taylor Jenkins Reid in the most enlightening and exciting bookclub read of the year!

One ordinary school. Three extraordinary women …

In the 1920s, three young girls enter a strict, cheerless convent school in a quiet London suburb.

Six years later they leave, to change the world …

Maureen was the movie star, whose role as Tarzan’s Jane helped rewrite the rules of cinema censorship.

Sonia was the aspiring writer who became George Orwell’s wife and the guardian of his literary legacy.

And Vivien was the actress as iconic as the roles she played, from Cleopatra to Scarlett O’Hara.

Together their careers encompassed glamour and tragedy, triumph and scandal. From Bloomsbury to Hollywood, and from the cafés of Paris to the theatres of New York, this novel is a breath-taking epic spanning four decades in three unforgettable lives.

Praise for Caroline Lamond

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I was hooked from the first page…’ NetGalley reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Really reminded me of City of Girls, the lifestyle, the glamour but also the tenderness… Wonderful!’ NetGalley reviewer

‘An enticing parallel portrait, of women endeavouring to be heard in a glittering but masculine era’ Mandy Robotham, international bestselling author

‘An extraordinary story’ Georgia Kaufmann, author of The Dressmaker of Paris

‘An engaging portrait of an indomitable woman at the heart of Golden Age Hollywood’ Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Manhattan Girls

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780008527679
  • ISBN 10: 0008527679
  • Imprint: One More Chapter
  • On Sale: 09/20/2024
  • Pages: 432
  • List Price:3.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Family Life / Marriage & Divorce
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / City Life
  • BISAC4 : FICTION: Historical / 20th Century / General
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / Romance / Historical / 20th Century

The Socialites by Caroline Lamond

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.