The Voyage of Freydis (The Vinland Viking Saga, Book 1)

by Tamara Goranson

On Sale: 08/31/2021

The Voyage of Freydis (The Vinland Viking Saga, Book 1)

Enlarge Book Cover

The Voyage of Freydis (The Vinland Viking Saga, Book 1)

by Tamara Goranson

On Sale: 08/31/2021

Format:

About the Book

The Vinland Viking Saga: Book 1

Condemned as a murderer in the margins of the ancient Icelandic sagas, Freydis Eiriksdottir’s courage has always been her curse. Now, centuries later, she finally steps into the spotlight wielding the only sword she ever needed: her pen…

The year is 993. Trapped in a merciless marriage to one of the most powerful chieftains in Greenland, Freydis escapes by becoming the first and only woman to lead a Viking voyage across the Atlantic.

Deep in the winter snows after her longboat reaches the rocky shores of Vinland, she meets a local warrior bearing a red raven tattoo on his chest, a man who will show her what it means to be cherished.

But when her husband pursues her from one horizon to another, she is faced with a shattering choice: make an impossible sacrifice or lose everything she has won in this newfound land…

The Voyage of Freydis is a tragic retelling of the Vinland Sagas set at the dawn of the 11th century – perfect for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker.

Content notice: spousal abuse.

Praise for The Voyage of Freydis:

‘Anyone who loves Vikings and historical fiction definitely should pick up this book’ Emily, NetGalley reviewer

Very lyrically written, I felt as if I was reading a song’ Tiffany, NetGalley reviewer

‘As a lover of mythology and historical fiction I knew immediately I was going to like this book – and I’m pleased to say I not only liked it but I LOVED it!’ Libby, NetGalley reviewer

‘Tamara Goranson’s writing really shines here. I felt the cold, heard the wind, flinched with the blows – that takes a lot of skill’ Dawn, NetGalley reviewer

‘Took me on a rollercoaster of emotions’ Charlotte, NetGalley reviewer

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise







-

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780008495336
  • ISBN 10: 0008495335
  • Imprint: One More Chapter
  • On Sale: 08/31/2021
  • Pages: 400
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Historical / Medieval
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Romance / Historical / Viking
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / Literary

The Voyage of Freydis (The Vinland Viking Saga, Book 1) by Tamara Goranson

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.