The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries:Portraits and Poison (The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries, Book 2)

by J.T. Williams

On Sale: 03/30/2023

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries:Portraits and Poison (The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries, Book 2)

by J.T. Williams

illustrated by Simone Douglas

On Sale: 03/30/2023

Format:

About the Book

The second book in the thrilling middle grade mystery series, perfect for fans of Robin Steven’s Murder Most Unladylike. Set in eighteenth-century London, with all the fun and zest of Hamilton and inspired by real Black British historical figures.

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger has been shortlisted for the Waterstones 2023 Children’s Book Prize!

Agents of history. Partners in Mystery. Sisters in solving crime.

Twelve-year-olds Lizzie Sancho and Dido Belle are from different worlds – Lizzie lives in Westminster in her dad’s tea shop, while Belle is an heiress being brought up by her aunt and uncle at grand Kenwood House – but they both share a love of solving mysteries. And after saving Lizzie’s father from attempted murder surely there is no threat too challenging for this detective duo?

It’s the summer of 1777, the night of the grand unveiling of the Sancho-Mansfields family portrait – and a celebration of friendship, family, and freedom! But all too soon things take a dark turn – the painting has been stolen! Now it is time for Lizzie and Belle to put their sleuthing skills to the ultimate test, following a trail of thefts, kidnappings and even poisonings that haunts the twisting London streets.
With a grand conspiracy afoot, and a mysterious organisation threatening their closest friends and family, who can Lizzie and Belle trust?

Once again it is up to the two girls to unveil the truth and put an end to the villainy that plagues the city.

Critical Praise

<p><strong>Reviews for Lizzie and Belle: Drama and Danger</strong></p><p>“Black British Georgian history is effectively brought to life through characters based on real people, but it is the suspense and plot twists that keep the pages turning” – Sarah Keating, <em>The Irish Times</em></p><p>‘This vivid theatreland mystery – whose atmospheric setting recalls Phillip Pullman’s <em>The Ruby and the Smoke</em> series – is deeply rooted in the abolitionist milieu and resonates sonorously today.’<br /><em>The Observer</em>, Chapter Books of the Month, 29th May 2022</p><p>‘I was hooked from the outset as Williams expertly takes the real life historical figures of two black Georgians Lizzie Sancho and Dido Belle and imagines them tackling a mystery of an attempted onstage murder! From the descriptions of the Jamaica Coffee House to the candle lit theatre chandeliers Georgian London is vividly brought to life. A must read for mystery fans.’<br />Joseph Coelho, Waterstone’s Children’s Laureate</p><p>“Bringing Georgian London vividly to life, this is a wonderful historical mystery with two delightful heroines. I can't wait to read the next instalment and find out what Lizzie and Belle will get up to next!”<br />Katherine Woodfine, author of The Sinclair’s Mysteries series</p> -

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780008485290
  • ISBN 10: 0008485291
  • Imprint: Farshore
  • On Sale: 03/30/2023
  • Pages: 486
  • List Price:7.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Historical / Europe
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / Europe
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Law & Crime
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries:Portraits and Poison (The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries, Book 2) by J.T. Williams

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.