The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger (The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries, Book 1)

by J.T. Williams

On Sale: 06/09/2022

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger (The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries, Book 1)

Enlarge Book Cover

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger (The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries, Book 1)

by J.T. Williams

illustrated by Simone Douglas

On Sale: 06/09/2022

Format:

About the Book

A thrilling middle grade mystery series, perfect for fans of Robin Steven’s Murder Most Unladylike. Set in eighteenth-century London, with all the fun and zest of Hamilton and inspired by real Black British historical figures.

WINNER OF THE WEEK JUNIOR CHILDREN’S BOOK OF THE YEAR: BREAKTHROUGH AWARD

SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES 2023 CHILDREN’S BOOK PRIZE

WINNER OF THE DIVERSE BOOK AWARD FOR CHILDREN’S BOOK OF THE YEAR

Twelve-year-olds Lizzie Sancho and Dido Belle are from different worlds – Lizzie lives in Westminster in her dad’s tea shop, while Belle is an heiress being brought up by her aunt and uncle at grand Kenwood House – but they both share a love of solving mysteries.

And when their eyes meet in the audience of the Drury Lane theatre one night, both girls are sure they’ve seen something suspicious on stage.

Lizzie and Belle soon find themselves on the trail of a mystery – and becoming best friends. But can they work out what’s going on in time to prevent a murder?

Critical Praise

Praise for The Week Junior Children’s Book of the Year: Breakthrough Award:
“What a joyful, heartstopping, theatrical whirlwind of a book”
“Everything about this beamed magnificence and made my heart soar”
“Its originality and freshness comes from the way that real history and historical characters are cleverly incorporated into the story, putting Black history firmly at the centre.”
“Eloquent, clever, imaginative and fun”
“Kids will just hoover this book up”

“Black British Georgian history is effectively brought to life through characters based on real people, but it is the suspense and plot twists that keep the pages turning” – Sarah Keating, The Irish Times

‘This vivid theatreland mystery – whose atmospheric setting recalls Phillip Pullman’s The Ruby and the Smoke series – is deeply rooted in the abolitionist milieu and resonates sonorously today.’
The Observer, Chapter Books of the Month, 29th May 2022

‘I was hooked from the outset as Williams expertly takes the real life historical figures of two black Georgians Lizzie Sancho and Dido Belle and imagines them tackling a mystery of an attempted onstage murder! From the descriptions of the Jamaica Coffee House to the candle lit theatre chandeliers Georgian London is vividly brought to life. A must read for mystery fans.’
Joseph Coelho, Waterstone’s Children’s Laureate

“Bringing Georgian London vividly to life, this is a wonderful historical mystery with two delightful heroines. I can't wait to read the next instalment and find out what Lizzie and Belle will get up to next!”
Katherine Woodfine, author of The Sinclair’s Mysteries series

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780008485252
  • ISBN 10: 0008485259
  • Imprint: Farshore
  • On Sale: 06/09/2022
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:12.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Historical / Europe
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / Europe
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Law & Crime

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger (The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries, Book 1) by J.T. Williams

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.