The English Wife

by Adrienne Chinn

On Sale: 06/23/2020

The English Wife

by Adrienne Chinn

On Sale: 06/23/2020

Format:

About the Book

Two women, a world apart.

A secret waiting to be discovered…

'An emotive and engaging read' Rosanna Ley

'Rich, evocative and utterly immersive, this beautifully written book swept me away' Jenny Ashcroft

'Evocative, sensual and authentic' Jane Johnson

VE Day 1945

As victory bells ring out across the country, war bride Ellie Burgess' happiness is overshadowed by grief. Her charismatic Newfoundlander husband Thomas is still missing in action.

Until a letter arrives explaining Thomas is back at home on the other side of the Atlantic recovering from his injuries.

Travelling to a distant country to live with a man she barely knows is the bravest thing Ellie has ever had to do. But nothing can prepare her for the harsh realities of her new home…

September 11th 2001

Sophie Parry is on a plane to New York on the most tragic day in the city's history. While the world watches the news in horror, Sophie's flight is rerouted to a tiny town in Newfoundland and she is forced to seek refuge with her estranged aunt Ellie.

Determined to discover what it was that forced her family apart all those years ago, newfound secrets may change her life forever…

This is a timeless story of love, sacrifice and resilience perfect for fans of Lorna Cook and Gill Paul.

What readers are saying about The English Wife:

An epic tale of family, tragedy and love set mostly in the wild Newfoundland Coast… I highly recommend this book!!" Books, Wine, Cats 5*

“This story is so sensual and so touching… The sense of suspense makes this story a page turner! Highly recommend this book, especially if you're looking for a WWII era book without all of the historical stuff" To Read is to Breathe, 5*

I couldn't put it down. It was not your typical historical novel and I think that's what I loved about it. Great book!" Dabbookclub, 4*

A book that drew me in from the first pages! The characters come alive, they're so well written. Fans of historic fiction will love this story. An author to follow and a book I will be recommending" Consumer review, 4*

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise



-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780008387006
  • ISBN 10: 0008387001
  • Imprint: One More Chapter
  • On Sale: 06/23/2020
  • Pages: 400
  • List Price:22.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Romance / Holiday
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Historical
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Romance / General
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
  • BISAC5 : Undefined Category

The English Wife by Adrienne Chinn

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.