The Girl from the Island

by Lorna Cook

On Sale: 05/25/2021

The Girl from the Island

Enlarge Book Cover

The Girl from the Island

by Lorna Cook

On Sale: 05/25/2021

Format:

About the Book

Pre-order your copy now: the emotional tale of sisters and secrets from the Number One bestselling author of The Forgotten Village and The Forbidden Promise

______________

A world at war.
One woman will risk everything.
Another will uncover her story.

1940: When the island of Guernsey is invaded by the Nazis, two sisters are determined to rebel in any way they can. But when forced to take in a German soldier, they are shocked to find a familiar face on their doorstep – a childhood friend who has now become their enemy.

2016: Two generations later, Lucy returns to Guernsey after the death of a distant cousin. As she prepares the old family house for sale, Lucy discovers a box of handwritten notes, one word standing out: resistance. Lucy’s search for the author will uncover the story of a forgotten sister who vanished from the island one night, never to be seen again.

A timeless story of love and bravery, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.

Praise for Lorna Cook’s novels:

‘I was so absorbed I read it in a single day’ Kate Riordan

‘Compelling, dramatic, with a great twist’ Jenny Ashcroft

‘An intriguing mystery’ Gill Paul

‘Kept me turning the pages eagerly’ Tracy Rees

‘Entrancing, evocative and romantic’ Woman’s Weekly

‘Full of twists and turns’ Nikola Scott

‘Hugely likeable characters and a corker of a twist!’ Mandy Robotham

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise










-

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780008379063
  • ISBN 10: 0008379068
  • Imprint: Avon
  • On Sale: 05/25/2021
  • Pages: 400
  • List Price:18.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Historical / World War II
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Family Life / Siblings
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Sagas
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Romance / Suspense
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / Contemporary Women

The Girl from the Island by Lorna Cook

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.