The Girl from the Island

by Lorna Cook

On Sale: 04/01/2021

The Girl from the Island

Enlarge Book Cover

The Girl from the Island

by Lorna Cook

On Sale: 04/01/2021

Format:

About the Book

A USA Today Bestseller!

‘Wow! What an enthralling and emotional read! I was literally in tears… Captivating.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A world at war. One woman will risk everything. Another will uncover her story.

1940: When the island of Guernsey is invaded by the Nazis, two sisters are determined to rebel in any way they can. But when forced to take in a German soldier, they are shocked to find a familiar face on their doorstep – a childhood friend who has now become their enemy.

2016: Two generations later, Lucy returns to Guernsey after the death of a distant cousin. As she prepares the old family house for sale, Lucy discovers a box of handwritten notes, one word standing out: resistance. Lucy’s search for the author will uncover the story of a forgotten sister who vanished from the island one night, never to be seen again.

A timeless story of love and bravery. Fans of Fiona Valpy and Kate Quinn will be absolutely gripped from the very first page.

Readers love The Girl from the Island:

I finished this novel last night and I cannot get it out of my head… Put the phone off the hook, pour yourself a nice hot chocolate and settle down for a wonderful read’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I was gripped from the beginning and could not put it down. I lost a lot of sleep on this one and do not regret it in the slightest!!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Unputdownable, passionate, captivating, and magnetic!!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Absolutely brilliant… I had to stay up late to read the next chapter!! I couldn't put it down’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Gripping and very emotional… This book has it all and I loved it’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A heart wrenching story of love, loss and survival’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A beautiful, wonderful, and poignant story’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Utterly beautiful and poignant… I was blown away’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Critical Praise

<b>Praise for <i>The Girl from the Island</i>:</b>

‘With a descriptive backdrop this story offers intrigue and tender romance. Highly recommended’ Glynis Peters, author of <i>The Secret Orphan </i>

'Paints an evocative picture of the bravery, fortitude and heart-breaking decisions of two British sisters living under German occupation on the beautiful island of Guernsey during WWII' Adrienne Chin, author of <i>The English Wife </i>

‘A book to get lost in… Love, suspense and a page-turning story’ Tracy Rees, Richard and Judy bestselling author

‘A heart-rending, devastating, beautiful book that brings Guernsey’s past to life in a fresh and thoroughly readable way’ Louise Douglas, author of <i>The House by the Sea </i>

‘A sweeping tale of love and courage,<i> The Girl from the Island</i> is tender and shocking in equal measure. Get ready for an utterly absorbing, heart-rending read. I loved it’ Emma Rous, author of The Au Pair

<b>Praise for Lorna Cook:</b>

‘I was so absorbed I read it in a single day’ <b>Kate Riordan</b>

‘Compelling, dramatic, with a great twist’ <b>Jenny Ashcroft</b>

‘An intriguing mystery’ <b>Gill Paul</b>

‘Kept me turning the pages eagerly’ <b>Tracy Rees</b>

‘Entrancing, evocative and romantic’ <i><b>Woman’s Weekly</b></i>

‘Full of twists and turns’ <b>Nikola Scott</b>

‘Hugely likeable characters and a corker of a twist!’ <b>Mandy Robotham</b>

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780008379063
  • ISBN 10: 0008379068
  • Imprint: Avon
  • On Sale: 04/01/2021
  • Pages: 400
  • List Price:18.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Historical / World War II
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Sagas
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC5 : FICTION / Family Life / Siblings

The Girl from the Island by Lorna Cook

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.