Quantcast The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic by Dr. Dan Ariely
About The Book
Pinit    

The Upside of Irrationality

The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic


 On Sale: 09/05/2011
 Formats:     Trade paperback | Hardback | CD
Single-Click Shopping:


“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

Book Description

How can large bonuses sometimes make CEOs less productive?
Why is revenge so important to us?
How can confusing directions actually help us?
Why is there a difference between what we think will make us happy and what really makes us happy?

In his groundbreaking book, Predictably Irrational, social scientist Dan Ariely revealed the multiple biases that lead us to make unwise decisions. Now, in The Upside of Irrationality, he exposes the surprising negative and positive effects irrationality can have on our lives. Focusing on our behaviors at work and in relationships, he offers new insights and eye-opening truths about what really motivates us on the job, how one unwise action can become a long-term bad habit, how we learn to love the ones we’re with, and more. The Upside of Irrationality will change the way we see ourselves at work and at home—and cast our irrational behaviors in a more nuanced light.


Author Extras

Critical Praise for The Upside of Irrationality

“A marvelous book that is both thought provoking and highly entertaining, ranging from the power of placebos to the pleasures of Pepsi. Ariely unmasks the subtle but powerful tricks that our minds play on us, and shows us how we can prevent being fooled.”
— Jerome Groopman, New York Times bestselling author of How Doctors Think

ISBN: 9780061995040; ISBN10: 0061995045; Imprint: Harper Perennial ; On Sale: 09/05/2011; Format: Trade paperback; Trimsize: 5 5/16 x 8; Pages: 368; $19.99; Ages: 18 and Up; BISAC1:BUS000000; BISAC2:SOC022000

Books by Dr. Dan Ariely
Predictably Irrational, Revised and Expanded Edition Predictably Irrational, Revised and Expanded Edition
Why do our headaches persist after we take a one-cent aspirin but disappear when we take a fifty-cent aspirin? Why do we splurge on a lavish meal but cut coupons to save twenty-five cents on a can of soup? When it comes to making decisions in our lives, we think we're making smart, rational...
The Honest Truth About Dishonesty The Honest Truth About Dishonesty
The New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational and The Upside of Irrationality returns with thought-provoking work to challenge our preconceptions about dishonesty and urge us to take an honest look at ourselves. Does the chance of getting caught affect how likely we are to...
The Upside of Irrationality The Upside of Irrationality
The provocative follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Predictably Irrational Why can large bonuses make CEOs less productive? How can confusing directions actually help us? Why is revenge so important to us? Why is there such a big difference between what we think will make us happy and what...