Quantcast How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of the World’s Favorite Literary Form by Thomas C. Foster
About The Book
Pinit    

How to Read Novels Like a Professor

A Jaunty Exploration of the World’s Favorite Literary Form


 On Sale: 23/06/2008
 Formats:     Trade paperback
Single-Click Shopping:


Book Description

Of all the literary forms, the novel is arguably the most discussed . . . and fretted over. From Miguel de Cervantes's Don Quixote to the works of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, and today's masters, the novel has grown with and adapted to changing societies and technologies, mixing tradition and innovation in every age throughout history.

Thomas C. Foster—the sage and scholar who ingeniously led readers through the fascinating symbolic codes of great literature in his first book, How to Read Literature Like a Professor—now examines the grammar of the popular novel. Exploring how authors' choices about structure—point of view, narrative voice, first page, chapter construction, character emblems, and narrative (dis)continuity—create meaning and a special literary language, How to Read Novels Like a Professor shares the keys to this language with readers who want to get more insight, more understanding, and more pleasure from their reading.


Author Extras

ISBN: 9780061340406; ISBN10: 0061340405; Imprint: Harper Perennial ; On Sale: 23/06/2008; Format: Trade paperback; Trimsize: 5 5/16 x 8; Pages: 336; $19.99; Ages: 18 and Up; BISAC1:LIT000000

Books by Thomas C. Foster
How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids
Now there's a young readers' edition of the hit New York Times bestselling adult book that's sold more than 750,000 copies! Did you know the Grinch was on a quest? What does it mean when a hero takes a journey? Or eats green eggs and ham? And what are vampires really about? There's always more to...
Twenty-five Books That Shaped America Twenty-five Books That Shaped America
From the author of the New York Times bestselling How to Read Literature Like a Professor comes a highly entertaining and informative new book on the twenty-five works of literature that have most shaped the American character. Foster applies his much-loved combination of wit, know-how, and...
How to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised How to Read Literature Like a Professor Revised
A thoroughly revised and updated edition of Thomas C. Foster's classic guide—a lively and entertaining introduction to literature and literary basics, including symbols, themes, and contexts—that shows you how to make your everyday reading experience more rewarding and enjoyable....