Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

The 3rd Woman

A Novel

About the Book

A chilling high-concept thriller featuring a brilliant, insomniac female investigative reporter who ends up fighting for her life while she battles to uncover the truth—perfect for fans of Daniel Silva and Terry Hayes

The United States and China have struck a shocking bargain: in return for forgiving trillions in debt, the People’s Republic of China—now the world’s dominant global superpower—has established a permanent military presence on US soil. Years of decline have left America economically vulnerable, and evidence of China’s cultural and political dominance is everywhere.

Los Angeles journalist Madison Webb is obsessed with exposing the lies and corruption that have corroded her once-great society. When her sister is savagely murdered, the police insist it’s an isolated crime. But Madison suspects the cops are hiding something. Digging for answers, she discovers her sister’s death may be one of many . . . and part of a dangerous conspiracy. Even though her life is on the line, Madison refuses to give up on the story. But she will face the consequences for exposing the powerful forces that deceive. Timely and gripping, the New York Times calls The 3rd Woman “an intelligent, finely crafted mystery that brilliantly channels the anxieties of our time.”

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“A strikingly fresh thriller … ingeniously realized.” —Sunday Times (London)

“A fast-paced political thriller with a murder mystery at its heart that keeps the reader gripped and rooting for the smart female lead throughout. Freedland’s best novel to date.” —Express

“Freedland has a knack of keeping the reader gripped. The twists when they come—and boy do they come—are genuinely surprising.” —Independent

“A killer novel…full of intrigue, plotting, and duplicity.” —Piers Morgan

“Jonathan Freedland’s inventive, thought-provoking political context gives the good plot added bite, depth and intelligence.” —The Times (London)

“The United States’ debt to China has changed the balance of power dramatically in this convincing near-future thriller from Freedland...who keeps the pages turning and unveils a twist that few will anticipate.” —Publishers Weekly

“Boldly imaginative…. A magnetic heroine in a heart-racing story.” —A. D. Miller, author of Man Booker-shortlisted Snowdrops

“The United States’ debt to China has changed the balance of power dramatically in this convincing near-future thriller from Freedland . . . who keeps the pages turning and unveils a twist that few will anticipate.” —Publishers Weekly

“An intelligent, finely crafted mystery that brilliantly channels the anxieties of our time.” —New York Times

“A robust, intelligent thriller … Madison is a skilfully drawn character, sympathetic and complex.” —Irish Examiner

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443454605
  • ISBN 10: 1443454605
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 01/30/2018
  • Pages: 480
  • List Price: 12.50 CAD
  • BISAC1: FICTION / Thrillers / General

The 3rd Woman by Jonathan Freedland

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!