Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

About the Book

A WALL STREET JOURNAL AND GUARDIAN THRILLER OF THE YEAR

A respected detective. A lonely woman.

Detective Sergeant Manon Bradshaw loves her job but longs for a personal life. Distant from her own family, she wants a husband and children of her own.

A missing girl who seemed to have it all.

After yet another disastrous Internet date, Manon turns on her police radio and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene. Postgrad student Edith Hind is the well-connected daughter of the physician to the Royal Family—and she has disappeared.

Few clues. And the clock is ticking . . .

A smattering of blood. No forced entry. The first seventy-two hours are crucial. Edith’s boyfriend, best friend and parents are pulled into the investigation. Secrets begin to emerge about the girl’s tangled love life and erratic behaviour leading up to her disappearance. And the shocking discovery has consequences not just for Edith’s family but for Manon as well.

 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

Missing, Presumed is fast-paced, twisty and full of realistic characters and scenarios. With any luck Detective Bradshaw will be back in future instalments, since she is a quirky, likable character, capable of carrying a series. —Vancouver Sun

[Steiner] gets inside the minds and lives of her book’s socially disparate personalities with the grace of a novelist of manners, even as she pulls tight the strands of one of the most ambitious police procedurals of the year. —The Wall Street Journal

“Nuanced suspense that’s perfect for Kate Atkinson fans.” —People

This novel stands out from the pack. . . . A highly charismatic and engaging story. —Kirkus (starred review)

A vein of dark humor pulses beneath this compelling whodunit with an appealing, complicated heroine at its center. —Publishers Weekly

Where Steiner excels is in the depth and clarity with which she depicts her characters. Manon is sad and lonely, estranged from her sister and something of a misanthrope. But she’s also funny and clever, and interesting. I defy you not to fall for her. —The Observer (Thriller of the Month)

Steiner’s engrossing, gripping and wry prose, beautifully detailed storytelling and the wonderfully drawn DS Manon Bradshaw elevate this missing person novel into something quite spectacular and deeply satisfying. —Red Online

This clever, witty novel is one of those rare books that marries excellent writing and memorable characters with an absorbing plot and a startling twist. —Sunday Express

Susie Steiner knows how to capture the reader’s attention, keep her enthralled and sign off neatly. Missing, Presumed is an excellent crime novel. —Literary Review

Missing, Presumed is an extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George—the surprises continue to the last page as Steiner blasts expectations and assumptions to dig deep into questions of trust, betrayal, class, and family bonds. Dazzling. —Joseph Finder, New York Times-bestselling author of Paranoia and Company Man

The mystery behind Edith Hind’s disappearance is filled to the hilt with provocative breadcrumbs, making for a page-turning literary crime novel that is nicely balanced by the all-too-relatable human foibles of lonely Detective Sergeant Manon Bradshaw. A complex, gripping read! —Suzanne Rindell, author of The Other Typist and Three-Martini Lunch

An intriguing mix of light and shade. Missing, Presumed is held in place by DS Manon Bradshaw: a messed-up, big-hearted detective in the best tradition. —Harriet Lane, author of Her and Alys, Always

Detective Manon Bradshaw is appealing, multi-faceted, and unforgettable. She charges through Missing, Presumed with twin goals—to find the body, and to find durable love. The resolution of this gripping novel astonishes and leaves a long afterglow.” —Amity Gaige, author of Schroder

Within a chapter, DS Manon Bradshaw announces herself as a detective to follow through books and books to come. A treat in store for those who love their crime fiction rich in psychology, beautifully written and laced with dark humour. Dive in. —Lucie Whitehouse, author of Before We Met and The Bed I Made

“Missing, Presumed has future BBC miniseries written all over it.” —Redbook

“[A] police procedural drenched in character and setting, with pinpoint detail that breathes life and color into every sentence.” —Raleigh News & Observer

“DS Manon Bradshaw is appealing, multifaceted, and unforgettable. She charges through Missing, Presumed with twin goals—to find the body, and to find durable love. The resolution of this gripping novel astonishes, and leaves a long afterglow.” —Amity Gaige, author of Schroder, The Folded World, and O My Darling

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443454148
  • ISBN 10: 1443454141
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 04/25/2017
  • Pages: 416
  • List Price: 12.50 CAD
  • BISAC1: FICTION / Thrillers / Crime
  • BISAC2: FICTION / General
  • BISAC3: FICTION / Literary

Missing, Presumed by Susie Steiner

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!