Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

Local Girl Missing

A Novel

About the Book

Someone knows where she is . . .

 

A shocking story of love and violence, and the intoxication of female friendship, Local Girl Missing is a ripped-from-the-headlines thriller about a young woman whose disappearance shakes the foundation of her small seaport hometown.

When Sophie begins to date Leon, Frankie warns her not to be lured in by his sensitivity and startling blue eyes. Frankie sees a dark side to him, but Sophie is smitten. Soon after this romance begins, twenty-one-year-old Sophie vanishes, last seen at the town’s old Victorian pier.

Twenty years later, Frankie receives a call from Sophie’s brother, Daniel, informing her that remains have been found near the old pier. Frankie wonders if it could be Sophie and returns to her hometown to try to finally find closure. Haunted by the familiar faces that filled her youth and threatening notes that allude to past secrets that only Sophie would have known, Frankie begins to think she sees a woman on the pier late at night, a woman who looks just like Sophie. Could she be seeing her friend’s ghost? Does someone else know what happened those many years ago?

Feeling isolated and unnerved, Frankie begins to wish she hadn’t returned. As she looks for emotional support from Daniel, she realizes she may have deeper feelings for him and wonders how her life would have been if she chose to love him instead of the man she married. Falling down a spiral of self-doubt and alcohol-fueled nights, as Frankie gets closer to the truth she becomes aware that her past secrets coming to light might cost her everything—her family, her sanity, and even her life.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

Praise for Local Girl Missing —No Source

“Compelling and page-turning, wonderfully written and impossible to second guess with a brilliant twist.” —Debbie Howells, bestselling author of The Bones of You

“The creepy goings on in the off-season, secret-filled resort will give you chills.” —Sunday Mirror

Praise for The Sisters —No Source

“Grippingly claustrophobic and unpredictable on every page: perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train.” —Marie Claire (UK)

“Tension oozes from every page . . . [an] addictive read that will leave you on the edge of your seat.” —The Sun (UK)

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443453035
  • ISBN 10: 144345303X
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 07/04/2017
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price: 22.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
  • BISAC2: FICTION / Thrillers / General
  • BISAC3: FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological

Local Girl Missing by Claire Douglas

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!