Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

About the Book

For readers of North of Normal and Wild, a stunning new memoir about family, loss and the struggle for a better future

#1 International Bestseller

Tara Westover was seventeen when she first set foot in a classroom. Instead of traditional lessons, she grew up learning how to stew herbs into medicine, scavenging in the family scrap yard and helping her family prepare for the apocalypse. She had no birth certificate and no medical records and had never been enrolled in school.

Westover’s mother proved a marvel at concocting folk remedies for many ailments. As Tara developed her own coping mechanisms, little by little, she started to realize that what her family was offering didn’t have to be her only education. Her first day of university was her first day in school—ever—and she would eventually win an esteemed fellowship from Cambridge and graduate with a PhD in intellectual history and political thought.


Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“This remarkable story of triumphing over a survivalist upbringing is fit to stand alongside the great modern memoirs . . . Powerful . . . a compelling and ultimately joyous account of self-determination.” —Mail on Sunday

“Tara Westover is living proof that some people are flat-out, boots-always-laced-up indomitable . . . a heartbreaking, heartwarming, best-in-years memoir.” —USA Today (four stars)

“The extremity of Westover’s upbringing emerges gradually through her telling, which only makes the telling more alluring and harrowing.” —The New York Times

“Jaw dropping.” —Daily Mail (UK)

“Fascinating . . . this book is a testament to willpower and freedom in knowledge.” —Canadian Living

“A story of resiliency amid many obstacles, including shame, violence, mental illness, family dysfunction and betrayal.” —Winnipeg Free Press

“Superb.” —The Times (UK)

“The story of a transformation so courageous, so entire, as to beggar belief . . . Westover’s triumph in forging a grounded self, and a coherent narrative, from such a maelstrom.” —Financial Times

“A riveting memoir of a brutal upbringing . . . That someone who grew up in [Westover’s] circumstances could achieve as much as she has is astonishing.” —The Economist

“A powerful memoir . . . extraordinary.” —The Guardian

“Astonishing, harrowing and brave . . . a shocking and powerfully moving memoir . . . It is remarkable that she has lived to tell the tale.” —Daily Mail (UK)

“Fascinating.” —Wall Street Journal

“Westover’s story is as much about her difficult childhood and what it’s like to grow up on fringe beliefs as it is about seeing the world through the eyes of a singular, intelligent, and observant person.” —Vanity Fair

“I’ve never read a story like this . . . amazing.” —CBS This Morning

“Elegantly written . . . a beautiful and propulsive new memoir.” —Vogue

“An astonishing account of deprivation, confusion, survival, and success.” —Kirkus

“[A] searing debut memoir. . . . Westover’s vivid prose makes this saga of the pressures of conformity and self-assertion that warp a family seem both terrifying and ordinary.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“One of the best, most absorbing memoirs I’ve ever read.” —Stylist

“Westover writes with uncommon intelligence and grace. Educated recounts one of the most improbable and fascinating journeys I’ve read in recent years.” —Newsday

“A coming-of-age memoir reminiscent of The Glass Castle.”
— (Best Book)

“Breathtaking, heart-wrenching, inspirational. . . A powerful, jaw-dropper of a book . . . Educated is one of the best books, and Westover one of the most gifted writers, that I’ve read in a very long time.” —Amy Chua, Yale Law professor and author of Political Tribes and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother

“An incredible memoir of triumph over seemingly endless adversity. The author’s ability to write about her experiences in a clear-eyed, nonjudgmental way makes her story a pleasure to read. A study in the power and wonder of resilience.” —Cea Sunrise Person, author of North of Normal and Nearly Normal

“Beautifully written. . . . Westover’s powerful tale—of trying to find a place for herself in the world, without losing her connection to her family or her beloved home—deserves to be widely read. My Mamaw would have been rooting for Tara.” —JD Vance, author of Hillbilly Elegy

“An unflinching account of love and brutality, of the strength of blood ties and the power of imagination, and of a young woman whose intellect, self-knowledge and courage illuminate every page . . . Both the book and its writer are remarkable in every respect.” —Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent

“Absolutely superb . . . the last 100 pages were so gripping I could hardly breathe.” —Sophie Hannah, author of Keep Her Safe

“A punch to the gut, a slow burn, a savage indictment, a love letter. . . . Rarely have I read a book that made me so uncomfortable, so enraged, and at the same time so utterly, entirely absorbed. I loved this book, and this woman.” —Claire Dederer, author of Love and Trouble

“Powerful, moving, brave, naked and completely at home in its form.” —Mona Simpson, author of Casebook and Anywhere But Here

“An extraordinary story, beautifully told.” —Louise O’Neill, author of Only Ever Yours

“Like The Glass Castle, Educated is a wise and deep reflection about surviving one’s family. I bow down to Tara Westover, not only for her marvelous, sentence-by-sentence craftsmanship but also for making sense and meaning from a confounding and hair-raising childhood. This is memoir at its best.” —Kelly Corrigan, author of The Middle Place and Glitter & Glue

“A striking story, beautifully told. Tara is an incredible new talent.” —Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of A Manual for Heartache

“Emotionally and intellectually acute, profoundly brave in confronting the injuries most people survive by turning away from… and acknowledging that dysfunction follows even when you escape… It’s moved me hugely.” —Imogen Hermes Gowar, author of The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock

“An absolutely astonishing account of an extraordinary mind overcoming even more extraordinary matter and finding freedom.” —Lucy Mangan, author of Bookworm: A Memoir of Childhood Reading

“Educated, in showing us the unstoppable power of a young women determined to make her own decisions and find her own way, is an inspiring and important tale for our times.” —Rebecca Stott, author of In the Days of Rain

“Extraordinary . . . ranks alongside Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight in its blistering portrayal of landscape, hardship, violence, family and the ties that bind . . . As powerful a story about the transforming potential of education as you’ll ever read.” —The Bookseller (UK) Book of the Month

“The book has a striking directness that comes from being written in the immediate aftermath of the often shocking events it describes.” —Harper’s Bazaar

“Westover manages both tenderness and a savage honesty that spares no one, not even herself.” —Booklist

“A dazzling example of what you can achieve if you set your mind to something . . . an inspirational, truly unique coming-of-age tale.” —BBC

“One of a kind.” —The Atlantic

“She recounts her experiences with a matter-of-fact lyricism that is extraordinarily evocative.” —The Irish Times

“Educated is so powerful, so haunting.” —Belfast Telegraph

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443452489
  • ISBN 10: 1443452483
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 02/20/2018
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price: 22.99 CAD

Educated by Tara Westover

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.


International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.


  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!