Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

About the Book

For readers of North of Normal and Wild, a stunning new memoir about family, loss and the struggle for a better future

Tara Westover was seventeen when she first set foot in a classroom. Instead of traditional lessons, she grew up learning how to stew herbs into medicine, scavenging in the family scrap yard and helping her family prepare for the apocalypse. She had no birth certificate and no medical records and had never been enrolled in school.

Westover’s mother proved a marvel at concocting folk remedies for many ailments. As Tara developed her own coping mechanisms, little by little, she started to realize that what her family was offering didn’t have to be her only education. Her first day of university was her first day in school—ever—and she would eventually win an esteemed fellowship from Cambridge and graduate with a PhD in intellectual history and political thought.

 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“An incredible memoir of triumph over seemingly endless adversity. The author’s ability to write about her experiences in a clear-eyed, nonjudgmental way makes her story a pleasure to read. A study in the power and wonder of resilience.” —Cea Sunrise Person, author of North of Normal and Nearly Normal

“Beautifully written. . . . Westover’s powerful tale—of trying to find a place for herself in the world, without losing her connection to her family or her beloved home—deserves to be widely read. My Mamaw would have been rooting for Tara.” —JD Vance, author of Hillbilly Elegy

“Breathtaking, heart-wrenching, inspirational–I’ve never read anything like this. . . . Educated is one of the best books, and Westover one of the most gifted writers, that I’ve read in a very long time.” —Amy Chua, Yale Law professor and author of Political Tribes and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother

“A punch to the gut, a slow burn, a savage indictment, a love letter. . . . Rarely have I read a book that made me so uncomfortable, so enraged, and at the same time so utterly, entirely absorbed. I loved this book, and this woman.” —Claire Dederer, author of Love and Trouble

“Powerful, moving, brave, naked and completely at home in its form.” —Mona Simpson, author of Casebook and Anywhere But Here

“Like The Glass Castle, Educated is a wise and deep reflection about surviving one’s family. I bow down to Tara Westover, not only for her marvelous, sentence-by-sentence craftsmanship but also for making sense and meaning from a confounding and hair-raising childhood. This is memoir at its best.” —Kelly Corrigan, author of The Middle Place and Glitter & Glue

“A striking story, beautifully told. Tara is an incredible new talent.” —Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of A Manual for Heartache

“An astonishing account of deprivation, confusion, survival, and success.” —Kirkus

“[A] searing debut memoir. . . . Westover’s vivid prose makes this saga of the pressures of conformity and self-assertion that warp a family seem both terrifying and ordinary.” —Publishers Weekly

“Extraordinary . . . ranks alongside Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight in its blistering portrayal of landscape, hardship, violence, family and the ties that bind . . . As powerful a story about the transforming potential of education as you’ll ever read.” —The Bookseller (UK) Book of the Month

“A powerful, jaw dropper of a book.” —Amy Chua, Yale Law professor and author of Political Tribes and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother

“Fascinating . . . this book is a testament to willpower and freedom in knowledge.” —Canadian Living

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443452472
  • ISBN 10: 1443452475
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 02/20/2018
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price: 34.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
  • BISAC2: BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / General
  • BISAC3: BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Women

Educated by Tara Westover

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!