Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

The Marriage Bureau

True Stories of 1940s London Match-Makers

About the Book

For fans of Call the Midwife and Downton Abbey, a charming and vivid portrait of the business of match-making in 1940s London, England

In the spring of 1939, with the Second World War looming, two determined twenty-four-year-olds, Heather Jenner and Mary Oliver, decided to open a marriage bureau. They found a tiny office on London’s Bond Street and set about the delicate business of match-making. Drawing on the bureau’s extensive archives, author Penrose Halson—who many years later found herself the proprietor of the bureau—tells Heather and Mary’s story, and the stories of their clients. We meet a remarkable cross-section of British society in the 1940s: gents with a “merry twinkle,” potential fifth-columnists, nervous spinsters, isolated farmers seeking “a nice quiet affekshunate girl” and girls looking “exactly” like Greta Garbo and Vivien Leigh, all desperately longing to find The One. And thanks to Heather and Mary, they almost always did just that.

A riveting glimpse of life and love during and after the war, The Marriage Bureau—which is in development for television—is not only a heart-warming and absorbing account of a world gone by, but also touches upon timeless themes. “Be it 1946 or 2016, we still worry about money, ailing parents, loneliness and finding someone to love.” (Daily Mail [UK])

 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“A book full of charm and hilarity.” —Country Life

“This is a fascinating account of true stories from a 1940s marriage bureau started by two young and enterprising women: brigadier’s daughter Heather Jenner and farmer’s daughter Mary Oliver . . . The stories of the clients are riveting, but so too are those of the staff.” —The Lady

“The book is a period piece in some ways but, away from the different clothes and customs, it has a contemporary ring because fundamentally, people don’t change. Be it 1946 or 2016, we still worry about money, ailing parents, loneliness and finding someone to love.” —Daily Mail

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443451420
  • ISBN 10: 1443451428
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 04/18/2017
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price: 22.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Historical
  • BISAC2: SOCIAL SCIENCE / Sociology / Marriage & Family
  • BISAC3: FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS / Marriage & Long Term Relationships

The Marriage Bureau by Penrose Halson

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!