Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

About the Book

For fans of Ruth Rendell and P. D. James, The Cellar reveals a terrifying world far from the public eye, and shows what happens when humanity is pushed to its very limit.

When Mr. and Mrs. Songoli’s young son goes missing, fourteen-year-old Muna’s fortunes change for the better. Knowing no other life than that of a slave, she is used to being abused by the Songoli family—physically, emotionally and even sexually.

To keep up appearances during Scotland Yard’s investigation, Muna is given a real bedroom and real clothing, like a real daughter would have. But when the police leave the premises, she must once again call her captors “Princess” and “Master.”

Assuming she doesn’t know how to read, write or speak English, the Songolis fear little from her. However, before long, it becomes clear that young Muna is far cleverer—and her plans far more terrifying—than the Songolis, or anyone else, could ever imagine. 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Sly pacing and a detached narrative voice give this horror story exceptional punch.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This compact, well-told and extraordinarily atmospheric story packs more punch than many much longer books.” —The Guardian

“Reads like a particularly grim Grimm’s Fairy Tale, with an all-too-credible contemporary setting.... Gratifyingly menacing.” —Daily Mail (UK)

“A compulsive (and gruesome) read.” —Independent (UK)

“Contemporary crime writing at its absolute peak.” —Val McDermid

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443447744
  • ISBN 10: 1443447749
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 01/31/2017
  • Pages: 256
  • List Price: 8.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: FICTION / Horror
  • BISAC2: FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
  • BISAC3: FICTION / General

The Cellar by Minette Walters

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!