Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

Unbound

Finding Myself on Top of the World

About the Book

In the tradition of Wild and Eat, Pray, Love comes an epic, inspiring new story about one woman’s triumph of spirit as she follows winter across five continents

Steph Jagger had seen the ski-lift sign thousands of times—Raise Restraining Device, it read—but one day she took it personally as a rallying cry to shake off the life she had for the life she wanted. She had always been a force of nature, so why was she still holding herself back? Dissatisfied with the passive, limited roles she had seen for women when she was growing up, Steph emulated the men in her life—chasing success, climbing the corporate ladder, ticking the boxes, playing by the rules. She was accomplished. She was living The Dream. But it wasn’t her dream.

The sign became her mantra. Steph walked away from the success and security she had worked long and hard to obtain. She quit her job, took a second mortgage on her house, sold everything except her ski equipment and her laptop and bought a plane ticket. For the next year, she followed winter across five continents on a mission to break the world record for most vertical feet skied in a year—four million. What hiking was for Cheryl Strayed, skiing became for Steph: a crucible in which to crack open her life and melt it down to its very elements.

Electrifying, heartfelt and full of humour, Unbound is Steph’s story—an odyssey of courage and self-discovery that, like Wild and Eat, Pray, Love, will inspire readers to remove their own restraining devices and pursue the life they are meant to lead.

 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Steph Jagger’s story will inspire you to discover and embrace your most authentic self, proving that a life does not have to be broken to be recreated into one that’s far more meaningful.” —Cea Sunrise Person, author of North of Normal

Unbound is a brave, beautiful journey through the winter of a life. A gorgeous memoir!” —Aspen Matis, author of Girl in the Woods

Unbound is an exhilarating story that totally captivated me. I was enraptured by her incredible strength and will as she skied around the world, sometimes crashing through snow-capped trees, down double black-diamond runs, and even fumbling through falling in love. Steph became my hero.” —Bif Naked, musician and author of I, Bificus

“A daring journey--complete with the unexpected twists, turns, and transformations that happen when you lean into a dream.” —Janice MacLeod, author of the New York Times-bestseller Paris Letters

Unbound begins with an epic ski trip and ends with a completely different journey, one that is richer and deeper than the snow found on the slopes of the world. . . It is impossible not to admire such honesty.” —Stella Harvey, author of The Brink of Freedom and Nicolai's Daughters, and Director of the Whistler Writers Festival

“I love this book. It nails the feeling of wanting to be alive in the world, to get out there and create your own story. Steph reminds us that we all have an adventurous bone somewhere in our bodies. Her story will inspire you.” —Leah Evans, Canadian skier

Unbound is a case study in navigating discontent. Buy this book for everyone you know who believes there’s more to life than getting a mortgage and climbing the corporate ladder.” —Chris Guillebeau, New York Times-bestselling author of Born for This and The $100 Startup

“Steph Jagger has written a captivating book about what it means to unlock our truest selves. Brave, honest and sparkling with wit and humor, Unbound will take you on an unforgettable journey.” —Claire Bidwell Smith, author of The Rules of Inheritance

Unbound is a page turner. It’s punchy, sexy, and funny, and most of all, it helped me understand my own story better.” —Shelby Stanger, adventure journalist, Outside Magazine, ESPNW.com and Self

“Steph Jagger goes all in. She is as bitingly funny as she is willing to expose her own vulnerabilities--the result is a refreshingly honest read. She prompts us to live truthfully and deliberately, and to say yes, whether to an extra lap or a deeper look at one’s self.” —Lucy Higgins, Associate Editor of Backcountry Magazine

Unbound is a stunning book that is sure to bring out the inner bad-ass in each of its readers. If you’ve ever dreamed of standing on the dazzling mountain tops of your life, this book is for you.” —Linda Sivertsen, author and host of the Beautiful Writers Podcast

“With snow as her compass and ski goggles as her lens, Steph Jagger embarks on an inspiring ten-month journey of self-discovery and reinvention. Not just for skiers, Unbound is a captivating read that demonstrates the value in following one’s heart beyond the beaten path.” —Becky Wade, professional runner and author of Run the World: My 3,500-Mile Journey Through Running Cultures Around the Globe

“Steph Jagger takes the reader over her skis in a daredevil worldwide run. No laterals, no time-outs, no taking ball four. It’s just you and the mountain. Hold on for an adventurous read.” —Dick Enberg, Emmy Award-winning sportscaster

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443446587
  • ISBN 10: 1443446580
  • Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers
  • On Sale: 01/24/2017
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price: 32.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / General

Unbound by Steph Jagger

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!