Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

Look Alive Out There

Format:

About the Book

For readers of Jenny Lawson and Nora Ephron, a return to the hilarious and searingly personal essays she’s known for—from a writer David Sedaris calls "perfectly, relentlessly funny"

Look Alive Out There is her third book of humorous personal essays, big and small. It takes the same wry sensibility and off-kilter etiquette of I Was Told There’d Be Cake and How Did You Get This Number and applies it to the meatier issues of adulthood. If How Did You Get This Number took the sensibility of I Was Told There’d Be Cake on the road, Look Alive Out There takes it into the future. It also features Crosley chasing a woman in a wheelchair and getting a massage with an epileptic dog.

These stories are all about picking over the past, keeping the best bits, and moving on. Be it hunting down kangaroos, being hypnotized by the Rear Window–style spectacle of youth displayed by her rich teenage neighbors, staring down the barrel of the fertility gun, bonding with her porn-star uncle, playing herself on TV, crashing shivas, dealing with death and disease, befriending woodland weed dealers, or scaling active volcanoes—Crosley is your untrusty, more or less useless guide, who will keep you laughing without remorse and seeing the absurdity of our world with fresh eyes. 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443445061
  • ISBN 10: 1443445061
  • Imprint: HarperAvenue
  • On Sale: 04/03/2018
  • Pages: 256
  • List Price: 29.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: HUMOR / Form / Essays
  • BISAC2: BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
  • BISAC3: HUMOR / General

Look Alive Out There by Sloane Crosley

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!