Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

About the Book

In this must-read book for anyone striving to succeed, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows parents, educators, athletes, students, and business people-both seasoned and new-that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent but a focused persistence called “grit."

Why do some people succeed and others fail? Sharing new insights from her landmark research on grit, MacArthur “genius" Angela Duckworth explains why talent is hardly a guarantor of success. Rather, other factors can be even more crucial such as identifying our passions and following through on our commitments.

Drawing on her own powerful story as the daughter of a scientist who frequently bemoaned her lack of smarts, Duckworth describes her winding path through teaching, business consulting, and neuroscience, which led to the hypothesis that what really drives success is not “genius" but a special blend of passion and long-term perseverance. As a professor at the University of Pennsylvania, Duckworth created her own “character lab" and set out to test her theory.

Here, she takes readers into the field to visit teachers working in some of the toughest schools, cadets struggling through their first days at West Point, and young finalists in the National Spelling Bee. She also mines fascinating insights from history and shows what can be gleaned from modern experiments in peak performance. Finally, she shares what she's learned from interviewing dozens of high achievers-from JP Morgan CEO Jamie Dimon to the cartoon editor of The New Yorker to Seattle Seahawks Coach Pete Carroll.

Winningly personal, insightful, and even life-changing, Grit is a book about what goes through your head when you fall down, and how that-not talent or luck-makes all the difference.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“I kept wanting to read this book aloud-to my child, my husband, to everyone I care about. There are no shortcuts to greatness, it’s true. But there is a roadmap, and you are holding it.” —Amanda Ripley, New York Times bestselling author of The Smartest Kids in the World: And How They Got That Way

Grit is a persuasive and fascinating response to the cult of IQ fundamentalism. Duckworth reminds us that it is character and perseverance that set the successful apart.” —Malcolm Gladwell, New York Times bestselling author of The Tipping Point, Blink, and Outliers

“Psychologists have spent decades searching for the secret of success, but Angela Duckworth is the one who found it. In this smart and lively book, she not only tells us what it is, but also how to get it.” —Daniel Gilbert, author of Stumbling on Happiness

“A contemporary classic—a clarifying and deeply-researched book in the tradition of Stephen Covey and Carol Dweck. For anyone hoping to work smarter or live better, Grit is an essential—and perhaps life-changing—read.” —Daniel H. Pink, author of Drive and To Sell Is Human

“Fascinating. Angela Duckworth pulls together decades of psychological research, inspiring success stories from business and sports, and her own unique personal experience and distills it all into a set of practical strategies to make yourself and your children more motivated, more passionate, and more persistent at work and at school.” —Paul Tough, author of How Children Succeed

“This book will change your life. Fascinating, rigorous, and practical, Grit is destined to be a classic in the literature of success.” —Dan Heath, co-author of Made to Stick, Switch, and Decisive

“Utterly captivating, inspiring and original…Once you pick up Grit, you won’t be able to tear yourself away.” —Amy Cuddy, Harvard Business School professor and author of Presence

“Enlightening…Grit teaches that life’s high peaks aren’t necessarily conquered by the naturally nimble but, rather, by those willing to endure, wait out the storm, and try again.” —Ed Viesturs, Seven-Time Climber of Mount Everest and author of No Shortcuts to the Top

“Readable, compelling and totally persuasive. The ideas in this book have the potential to transform education, management and the way its readers live. Angela Duckworth’s Grit is a national treasure.” —Lawrence H. Summers, Former Secretary of the Treasury and President Emeritus at Harvard University

“Masterful…Grit offers a truly sane perspective: that true success comes when we devote ourselves to endeavors that give us joy and purpose.” —Arianna Huffington, author of Thrive

“I¹m convinced there are no more important qualities in striving for excellence than those that create true grit…I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did.” —Brad Stevens, Coach of the Boston Celtics

“Empowering…Angela Duckworth compels attention with her idea that regular individuals who exercise self-control and perseverance can reach as high as those who are naturally talented-that your mindset is as important as your mind.” —Soledad O'Brien, Chairman of Starfish Media Group and former co-anchor of CNN's “American Morning”

“Invaluable…In a world where access to knowledge is unprecedented, this book describes the key trait of those who will optimally take advantage of it. Grit will inspire everyone who reads it to stick to something hard that they have a passion for.” —Sal Khan, founder of Khan Academy

“A combination of rich science, compelling stories, crisp graceful prose, and appealingly personal examples…Without a doubt, this is the most transformative, eye-opening book I’ve read this year.” —Sonja Lyubomirsky, Professor, University of California, Riverside and author of The How of Happiness

“A thoughtful and engaging exploration of what predicts success. Grit takes on widespread misconceptions and predictors of what makes us strive harder and push further…Duckworth’s own story, wound throughout her research, ends up demonstrating her theory best; passion and perseverance make up grit.” —Tory Burch, Chairman, CEO and Designer of Tory Burch

“I love an idea that challenges our conventional wisdom and ‘grit’ does just that! Put aside what you think you know about getting ahead and outlasting your competition, even if they are more talented. Getting smarter won’t help you—sticking with it, will! —Simon Sinek, author of Start With Why and Leaders Eat Last

“Profoundly important. For eons, we’ve been trapped inside the myth of innate talent. Angela Duckworth shines a bright light into a truer understanding of how we achieve. We owe her a great debt.” —David Shenk, author The Genius in All of Us: New Insights into Genetics, Talent, and IQ

“This book gets into your head, which is where it belongs…For educators who want our kids to succeed, this is an indispensable read.” —Joel Klein, former Chancellor, New York City public schools

Grit delivers! Angela Duckworth shares the stories, the science, and the positivity behind sustained success…A must-read.” —Barbara Fredrickson, author of Positivity and Love 2.0 and President of the International Positive Psychology Association

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443442312
  • ISBN 10: 1443442313
  • Imprint: Collins
  • On Sale: 05/03/2016
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price: 29.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: PSYCHOLOGY / General

Grit by Angela Duckworth

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!