Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

About the Book

Kenneth Oppel's most haunting story yet . . .

She was very blurry, not at all human looking. There were huge dark eyes, and a kind of mane made of light, and when she spoke, I couldn't see a mouth moving, but I felt her words, like a breeze against my face, and I understood her completely.

"We've come because of the baby," she said. "We've come to help."

In this beautiful, menacing novel, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Coraline, an anxious boy becomes convinced that angels will save his sick baby brother. But these are creatures of a very different kind, and their plan for the baby has a twist. Layer by layer, he unravels the truth about his new friends as the time remaining to save his brother ticks down.

With evocative and disquieting illustrations by Caldecott Medal– and Governor General's Award–winning artist Jon Klassen, The Nest is an unforgettable journey into one boy's deepest insecurities and darkest fears.

Read an excerpt from The Nest.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Video

Critical Praise

School Library Journal Book of the YearPublishers’ Weekly Book of the YearHorn Book Fanfare BookNew York Times’ Editors’ ChoiceWall Street Journal Book of the YearIndigo Books Book of the Year —No Source

“This quiet yet emotionally haunting book thoughtfully explores themes of safety, anxiety, and the beauty of the imperfect . . . [An] affecting middle grade psychological thriller.” —School Library Journal (starred review)

“A tight and focused story about the dangers of wishing things back to normal at any cost . . . the emotional resonance is deep, and Steve’s precarious interactions with the honey-voiced queen make one’s skin crawl.” —Horn Book (starred review)

“With subtle, spine-chilling horror at its heart, this tale of triumph over monsters-both outside and in-is outstanding . . . a match made in kid-lit heaven.” —Booklist (starred review)

“A masterpiece, and deeply heartening proof that two of our country’s best artists are continuing to take risks and grow artistically, even at the height of their careers.” —The Globe and Mail

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781443438629
  • ISBN 10: 1443438626
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 09/29/2015
  • Pages: 256
  • List Price: 19.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: JUVENILE FICTION / Horror

The Nest by Kenneth Oppel

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!