The Mending Summer

by Ali Standish

On Sale: 05/25/2021

The Mending Summer

Enlarge Book Cover

The Mending Summer

by Ali Standish

On Sale: 05/25/2021

Format:

Junior Library Guild Selection

About the Book

Perfect for fans of Orphan Island and WishtreeThe Mending Summer is the next stunning middle grade novel from Ali Standish—author of the Carnegie Medal nominee The Ethan I Was Before and August Isle, Bad Bella, and How to Disappear Completely—about a girl who is struggling to deal with her father’s alcoholism when she discovers an enchanted lake…

Some summers are meant to break your heart. Others to mend it. Every once in a while, a summer rolls around that does both. 

For Georgia, this summer is shaping up to be a big disappointment. Mama is busy studying for her biology degree. Daddy is working nights, and often the man who comes home isn’t Daddy. He’s a man who looks like Daddy, but walks a little wobbly. Who sounds like Daddy, but sings a little too loud. Georgia calls him the Shadow Man.

So now, instead of riding horses with her friends at camp, Georgia is sent off to the country to stay with her mysterious great-aunt for the summer to avoid her parents’ fighting.

There, a lonely Georgia meets a mysterious friend named Angela and together, they discover a magical lake—one that can make wishes come true. At first, the lake offers Georgia a thrilling escape from her worries and hope that she can use its magic to heal her family. But as things grow worse at home, a troubled boy appears at the lake and the wishes threaten to spiral out of control . . . 

Award-winning author Ali Standish explores the courage it takes to piece your heart back together again when those closest to you break it. 

"Standish has created a timeless tale of discovery, growth, and relationships. A powerful story about an important topic." —School Library Journal (starred review)

“Readers will be drawn into this story of friendship, magic, and the heartbreak—and healing—of addiction.” —Kirkus

A JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION!

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

Standish has created a timeless tale of discovery, growth, and relationships. Her portrayal of a child learning what it means to have an alcoholic family member is both heartrending and resonant, illustrating that parents can’t always live up to young people’s expectations. A powerful story about an important topic. Recommended for all ­libraries serving middle grade readers. - School Library Journal (starred review)

“Readers will be drawn into this story of friendship, magic, and the heartbreak—and healing—of addiction." - Kirkus Reviews

"Standish (How to Disappear Completely) skillfully portrays the uncertainty and powerlessness of Georgia’s home situation; the magic at the heart of this understated tale offers its protagonist escape and healing, as well as the understanding that wishing is insufficient to change difficult circumstances."  - Publishers Weekly

“Standish once again merges fantasy elements with reality in a captivating way.”  - Booklist

“An absolute gem of a friendship story that’s full of magic, courage, and love.” - Gail D. Villanueva, author of My Fate According to the Butterfly

“A magical story exploring the true meaning of family, forgiveness, and friendship." - Jen Petro-Roy, author of Life in the Balance and Good Enough

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062985651
  • ISBN 10: 0062985655
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 05/25/2021
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship

The Mending Summer by Ali Standish

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.