This Woven Kingdom

by Tahereh Mafi

On Sale: 02/01/2022

This Woven Kingdom

Enlarge Book Cover

This Woven Kingdom

by Tahereh Mafi

On Sale: 02/01/2022

Format:

About the Book

Clashing empires, forbidden romance, and a long-forgotten queen destined to save her people—bestselling author Tahereh Mafi’s first in an epic, romantic trilogy inspired by Persian mythology.

To all the world, Alizeh is a disposable servant, not the long-lost heir to an ancient Jinn kingdom forced to hide in plain sight.

The crown prince, Kamran, has heard the prophecies foretelling the death of his king. But he could never have imagined that the servant girl with the strange eyes, the girl he can’t put out of his mind, would one day soon uproot his kingdom—and the world.

Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Tomi Adeyemi, and Sabaa Tahir, this is the explosive first book in a new fantasy trilogy from the New York Times bestselling and National Book Award-nominated author Tahereh Mafi.

“In a tale as exquisitely crafted as one of Alizeh’s own garments, Mafi weaves a spell of destiny and danger, forbidden love and courtly intrigue, magic and revolution.”—Cassandra Clare, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Last Hours

This Woven Kingdom is an exquisite fantasy. Rich with clever prose, delicious twists, and breathtaking world building. Prepare to be destroyed—this one will wrench at your heart and make it pound, and in the end it will leave you entirely speechless.”—Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Caraval series

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“In a tale as exquisitely crafted as one of Alizeh’s own garments, Mafi weaves a spell of destiny and danger, forbidden love and courtly intrigue, magic and revolution.” - Cassandra Clare, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Last Hours

This Woven Kingdom is an exquisite fantasy. Rich with clever prose, delicious twists, and breathtaking world building. Prepare to be destroyed—this one will wrench at your heart and make it pound, and in the end it will leave you entirely speechless.”
- Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Caraval series

"This story is so magical and transportive that I fully expected the book would know the moment I'd finished — within hours, no less — and promptly unravel into a pile of jewels and silks in my hands. Mafi's diamond-bright lyrical voice weaves a tale that is gilded in magic, laced with subterfuge, adorned with the brocade of a tortuous romance, and richly embroidered with Persian mythology. I cannot wait for more." - Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves

"I've been longing to read a story inspired by The Shahnameh, and This Woven Kingdom captivated me with its deft worldbuilding and searing romance. Alizeh's quiet strength unfurls against a darkly magical backdrop. This book is a glittering jewel, complete with razor-sharp edges."
- Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath & the Dawn series

"Richly textured, descriptive prose coupled with agonizing romance combine in this fantastical epic. Gut-wrenchingly beautiful." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"[An] illustrious tale of magic, court intrigue, and romance. Captivating readers from the very first chapter... A magnetic series opener that will delight fans of Mafi’s previous series."
- Booklist

PRAISE FOR An Emotion of Great Delight: "Gorgeous and poetic, Mafi is unflinching in her rendering of pain and brutal truths, but also succeeds in weaving a tale that is brimming with heart and honest hope. This is a book I wish I'd had when I was fourteen. I'm so glad young readers will have it now. A truly special story." - Jasmine Warga, New York Times bestselling and Newbery Honor-winning author of Other Words for Home

"Tahereh Mafi has written a timely, compelling novel about love and family and the remarkably complex nature of religion and faith. An Emotion of Great Delight is as profound as it is beautiful." - Matt de la Peña, New York Times and Newbery Medal winning author of The Last Stop on Market Street

"Mafi follows her National Book Award–longlisted A Very Large Expanse of Sea (2018) with another contemporary young adult novel of striking emotional intensity. Complex and introspective Shadi details her experiences with the specific challenges of Islamaphobia and with more general issues. With masterfully compelling prose, this surprises and ensnares, leading readers to an inevitable but gripping climax. Though there's a feverous feeling throughout the book, there's also formidable nuance in Shadi’s paradoxical and contradictory thought patterns, which add even more to the blunt realism. Emotional implications of great magnitude and stakes that could not feel higher. A bluntly powerful read that shouldn't be missed."
- ALA Booklist (starred review)

"Mafi confronts issues of mental health, suicidality, racism, and self-love in ways that will leave readers reacting viscerally and powerfully. Reading this novel is like being dropped straight into the everyday lives of a Muslim family in post–9/11 America. A simply real story, devoid of clichés, that will leave an indelible mark."
- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062972446
  • ISBN 10: 0062972448
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 02/01/2022
  • Pages: 512
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Epic
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Royalty
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / People & Places / Asia
  • BISAC5 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / General

This Woven Kingdom by Tahereh Mafi

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.